Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Writer's Block and Childish Jealousy

It's funny, because I was planning to blog about writer's block before I saw the comment on my last post, and the two are sort of related.

But first, I can't get this song out of my head. I don't even watch that show! But I adore Neil Patrick Harris. :3

Okay, so.

I'm pretty sure I've never mentioned here that I love writing. Well, it might have been implied in the first post ever, I can't remember. But yeah. I like writing. This will come into play for both the topics I want to talk about today.

In addition to regular writing, I love fanfiction. I have an account on fanfiction(dot)net which I use daily. I'm a roleplaying nerd, plus I have a lot of friends there on regular chat forums. I also write my own fanfiction. But I haven't written anything in ages.

At the beginning of the year, I wrote down one of my New Year's resolutions of finishing the trilogy I started on that account. I'm halfway through the third fic. But I just can't bring myself to write. And now I'm addicted to Sims again, so I don't know how I'll ever do it. True, I have eight months left, but I have so many other long term projects I need to do. I have to study extra French to skip the 1B course, I have huge English projects due, I might go to Europe, then I start high school, and there's the Sims which will dominate the near future...

And when I sit down to write, nothing comes. I'll just go on Facebook and FFN, and three hours later I'll have a hundred words (blogging is easier for me than creative writing, if you didn't notice).

I do attend a Writing Club every Monday. That usually ends up being the only time I write aside from these blogs. Sometimes I get into a fanfiction mood and I'll post a few chapters, but yeah. I do roleplay daily, but it isn't the same thing for me.

This sort of ties into the childish jealously part of this blog post. Not really. But I'm using it as a segue anyway. There's a girl who writes poetry and posts it as notes on Facebook (she goes to my school). There are always comments upon comments about how powerful it is and how awesome she is, an apparently a family member is hooking up with a publisher and she's had tons of publishing chances before...

It just makes me feel worthless. I don't know why. I guess it's because I've always had a dream of being a published author. In 4th grade, I filled a binder with lined paper and penned down my first novel(la). Several edits later, it's finished. Sure, it'll probably rot in my harddrives, but I did it. It was officially finished about 14 months ago. Last November, I participated in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and won. I edited (badly) and got the proof copy. Sure, when I posted a picture of it on Facebook, it got nine likes and twenty positive comments, and people wanted to buy it (to which I said no because it needed more editing and Amazon wanted a ton of personal info to sell it), but somehow this just pales.

I'm a rather jealous type. Maybe it's a sin, but I've always wanted to stand out and be known. I don't want to be popular, because I'm a hipster douche, just noticed.

Buh.

I'm just going to move on to Sims. 0D

Ostacato got married! :D A day or two before he became an adult and I was desperate to find him a wife, Trista Shaw walked by. They became good enough friends, but she had to to leave before they could get married the first day. So I had him call her over the next day and chat it up. Finally, it was time to propose, and she said yes. But when I proposed marriage, she left him at the altar.

Not excited to replay their entire relationship from scratch, I was like, "Wait, I saved when they became best friends!"

So I exited the lot without saving and went back in time. This time made her move in first and then I saved when they got engaged. They woo-hoo'd, but then Trista rejected his marriage again. I logged out again and saved after they woo-hoo'd then made her propose, that bitch. Ostacato said yes.

Then came the pregnancy war. I always try to get the woman pregnant the first night, but it took Trista three nights and five total tries to get pregnant. This means the parents will be elders probably only a few days after the second child becomes a teen. Stressss.

At least raising the kids will be easy. With their current schedules (which will change because I want them to get promoted more), Trista leaves for work right when Ostacato comes back. But it doesn't matter even if they're gone at the same time, because Tessa and Jonathan have at least ten more days left in them, which is enough to be alive for the births of both children, and they'll probably pass around when the second child becomes a child. I'm hoping to have Trista be at the top of the Slacker career track by then so her hours will be very agreeable to not needing a nanny, but probably another job along the way to the top will be good enough.

Speaking of nannies, I hired a maid because I couldn't keep up with the cleaning and I was hoping to have her marry Ostacato if necessary. It wasn't, and now she comes every day anyway. It isn't expensive, and it gives my Sims more time to focus on their wants and needs.

One more thing. SICKNESS. I've never had a problem with sick Sims before. I've only ever had two Sims get sick before. But Ostacato has been sick five times. The first time it was with the flu. He got Charleigh sick and then got better, but Charleigh got him sick and then they got well together. Then he had two colds. Then he got the flu again, getting Tessa and Charleigh sick. And now he has another cold. Ugh.

I'm going to eat and then play more. Trista has one more day before giving birth. I think I'm going to name it Seth for a boy and Ann Marie for a girl.

OH. And I finally added windows to the house. It cost 4000, and they still had 9000 left. Now they're at around 11000. Jonathan can finish a painting about every two days, and they all see for around 500. Plus, Tessa finished a novel that sold for around 2500, and she's working on another that will probably be done right before she dies.

/actually leaving now

No comments:

Post a Comment