As I am writing this, it is still Thursday. I won't be getting home until around ten tomorrow, at which point I'll be in no state to blog about anything cohesive, so I'm writing this to post right before bed tomorrow.
All this week, I've been called an overachiever. When I pointed this out to the umpteenth person to tell me this, he said, "Well, because you are." But am I really?
Today (that is, Thursday), we have several major assignments due as well as a few minor ones. A lab report was expected in Science, and my English teacher was asking for a rough draft on an essay, a rough draft of a creative writing piece, and a write-up for Independant Reading. Now, we'd had a fair amount of time to work on these. I finished the Science report on Monday, as it was half done when I walked into class that day and almost completely done when I came home. Granted, I was the first person to turn mine in, but it wasn't that odd. And I only got a B+. I finished the rough draft of the essay as well as the IR write-up on Tuesday. Wednesday, in class, my teacher informed me the essay was exactly what he was looking for. I finished the rough for the writing on Wednesday. Both final drafts were just emailed off to my teacher.
I then proceeded to get a 100% on my Chemistry test and a 97% on my essay for Social Studies. Provided, I only got a 90% on my French test, and I'm better at French than Science or Social Studies.
I'm also done with my major art project, and many people are not even half done. The class is over at the end of the week, at which point we begin Tech Ed. My art teacher loves it (though she loves everything).
And because of all this, I've been called an overachiever. Everyone uses the excuse, "I'm a procrastinator." But, please, I love procrastinating as much as the next guy. As Maureen Johnson so aptly put, writers are pro at procrastinating. I consider myself a writer, seeing as I've written two novelettes (unpublished). Ergo, I procrastinate. I do it all the time. But I don't procrastinate for full days. I come home and put things off for a couple hours before I force myself to get things done. I think people just lack the drive that I kick in at five or six each day.
I have this raging paranoia about homework. The only time I didn't turn something in on time if not early was in first grade, when I forgot my homework folder at home. My Assignment Book is like my Bible. If I don't do things the first (or, on rare occasions, second) day I get them, I go insane thinking that I haven't done them, even if anything as a shiny check-mark next to it in my Assignment Book.
I'm rambling.
In any case, what I was trying to say was that it isn't that I'm an overachiever; everyone else just unerachieves.
Or something.
No comments:
Post a Comment