Friday, April 22, 2011

Nightlight

Yesterday, whilst at the supermarket, my mom ran into her friend. They talked. And talked. and ohmigod, they talked. I wandered over to the tiny book and magazine section, because I remembered they used to sell cheap video games there and I was wondering if there was anything good. As I scanned the shelves, I first overlooked the book with the apple core on the cover.

Then I looked back.

Before me on the shelf sat Nightlight by The Harvard Lampoon, in all its lulzy glory. it was common sense to know that it was a Twilight parody. I picked it up out of pure curiosity and the promise of lulz, and I was not disappointed.

Just the quote on the back had me begging my mom to buy it for me. "About three things I was absolutely certain. First, Edwart was most likely my soul mate, maybe. Second, there was a vampire part of him--which I assumed was wildly out of his control--that wanted me dead. And third, I unconditionally, irrevocably, impenetrably, heterogeneously, gynecologically, and disreputably wished he had kissed me."

I'm currently on page 101 out of 154, and I totally love it. I would have already been done if I hadn't spent so much time cramming in pages of East of Eden (on page 430 there).

What I find fascinating about this book is how it isn't what you expect it to be. I figured it would be making fun of Meyer's poor character development and raging plot chasms (similar to the Twilight Snarker), but its different. It grabs the original Twilight plot by the reigns and takes it for a ride. In this version, Belle (Bella :P) is actually clumsy, not just said to be so. She's arrogant and stupid and she has a real personality rather than Meyer's "pants" character (The Oatmeal, anyone?). It's written how Twilight is seen by its hoards of "haters", maybe.

Quite as it should be.

Obviously, I'm terrible at describing things. But I assure you, it is wholly hilarious. "But I've already taken English. A few semesters of it, actually."

"Don't be smart with me, young lady."

"So she knew I was smart. Flattered, I conceded."

I dunno. Made my day. ^.^

Astonishingly, not much has happened in the Sims since we last spoke (or, I wrote, you read). Ann Marie grew up. Actually, she didn't grow up. Trista was interrupted every hour to go "Help With Birthday" and nothing happened. The poor woman was close to dying (thank goodness she had three days off from work anyway). I went to Google and found out buying a cake would help. And it did! So, her belated birthday ensued. Another red-head. :3 I'm disheartened at the stupid nose running in the family, though. Both Luca and Anne Marie have it.

OH! And I added some real roofing. I am going to put a hot tub up there, which made things a little difficult. It ended up working out with some creative roof and fence placement, and I'd say it looks really nice. I'll finally be able to start upgrading appliances. :D

Au revior~

No comments:

Post a Comment