Something about a thing being almost over makes it more appealing. Well, maybe not more appealing. Just more tangible. I've wanted to quit BEDA plenty of times. Today being no exception. But the month is nearly over, and I just know that I can't quit now. Not only because I don't want to fail, but because it would be senseless. There are only two days left in April after today. I can stand that.
It was sort of like with NaNoWriMo. I competed the previous November for my first time, and I finished on the 26th. I still had time, but as soon as I neared 50,000 I couldn't think about anything but finishing. I sat for hours writing the last few thousand words because I was nearly done, and I wanted to be done. I wanted to brag about it and I wanted to have that accomplishment under my belt.
Obviously, writing 50,000 words in 30 days (and later revising to have a physical, self-published book at 13 years old) is a much bigger accomplishment than writing a half-ass blog every day of April. There are bigger writing feats to conquer. I mean, I'm proud that I didn't give up, but it isn't something I can brag about to my non-writing friends. Or even my writing friends.
For example, I found out a couple days ago that one of my friends on FFN has a story that has over 200,000 words (43 chapters, I believe) and 803 reviews. That is an accomplishment. If I could do that, I would be the happiest young writer in the world. Seriously. I made writing a successful fanfic my New Year's resolution. I dearly want to do it, even if I spend the rest of the year writing soul dry over fanfiction (aside from November, where I'll be novelling XD).
I get frustrated with FFN, I suppose. The reviews go to the half-baked stories that break the rules. For the Warriors section, Create-A-Cat fics. For Hunger Games, Submit Your Own Tribute stories. I've put a lot of hard work into my newest Warrior's stories, but my most popular story (aside from the rule-breaking one I took down with 50+ reviews) is, in my opinion, the worst writing I have up there. I think it could be because I used canon characters there, and Firestar was one of them, but my friend says her OC fics are more popular than her canon ones. So I don't know.
I'm sorry, this is all very rant-y and boring, I know. I lost my point long ago. Welcome to the home stretch of BEDA, I hope you've enjoyed your time here.
A quick note on the Sims: I haven't played since Saturday, but I do have something I forgot to tell you. I decided on a joking train of thought from my cousin that since Charleigh has a fear of getting married but I want to do more with her than just have woo-hoo and go to work, she will get pregnant with a pre-made Sim named Edward. Because, like, why not? XD I've tried once already, but it didn't work. I'll totally work on it the next time I play, though. :D
Alright, well, byeeee~
No comments:
Post a Comment