Sunday, April 17, 2011

Beauty and the RENT

Let's just jump into things, shall we? Today I watched two movies for the first time (yeah, I know it's only 1:45; what's your point?); Beauty and the Beast and RENT.

Hold on a second. Let's address those scowls you're giving me for never having seen Beauty and the Beast. I didn't watch movies very much as a child. I watched Dora the Explorer and my mom's soap operas. The only things meant for little kids that I watched on our VCR were like, Winnie the Pooh and the Teletubbies. Mind you, I had all these Disney movies, I just didn't watch them.

However, I must point out I have a brother who is three years older than me. I watched his movies. I watched Indiana Jones and Star Wars, because whatever my big brother watched had to be cool. Satchels and the force, yay~! :D

Last year, my friends were having a Disney movie marathon. I realized I had no recollection of watching any Disney movies as a kid. I went home that February Break and watched The Little Mermaid, The Lion King, The Lion King 2, and Mulan. That was it, but I was hooked.

Fast-forward to yesterday. I was reading one of owlssayhooot's latest blog posts about her favorite Disney heroines. Belle was her favorite. I read the description of why and I decided I absolutely had to watch that movie.

But I also absolutely had to watch RENT. I have a few friends that are positively in love with it, and I gave in and promised to watch it.

So, opinions?

I'll start with RENT. Forgive me, RENT enthusiasts, but I didn't like it. Don't get me wrong, I adore musicals. Just not this one. There was, believe it or not, simply too much singing. That movie is just over two hours long, and I don't think I'd be remiss to say that there was about two hours of singing. Not only that, but the songs didn't make that much sense with almost know dialogue. There were so many "wait, what?" moments in that movie that I couldn't keep track of them. And the only character I liked was Mark.

No hard feelings?

I did, however, absolutely adore Beauty and the Beast. The entire last hour had me out of my chair screaming about how adorable it was (thank goodness no one was home). Call me a child, but Disney movies are more enthralling to me than any other movies. When Toy Story 3 came out, I decided to watch the first two, and my heart was pounding so much at the ends of both and I was screaming at all the characters. You know a movie is good when I scream at the characters.

So that's what I did today. :D

Sims~

I realized before I wrote this post that I never told you the name of Tessa and Jonathan's son. His name is Ostacato.

There's a backstory to that, though. In orchestra, the conductor played hang man with us to try and get us to say a certain musical term. When we finally got it (Ostacato), I turned to my friend, who I'd been talking about Sims with for the entire class, and told her I had to name a Sim that. So I did.

Nothing much else of importance happened. Tessa got promoted, though she's working the same days with almost the same exact hours (10-4 instead of 10-6). Jonathan got promoted, but he's still working nights (6-1 instead of 11-4). Ostacato became a teen right before I turned it off. I painted the house...

By the way, my hypothesis was correct. Ostacato was born with a giant nose, but it didn't grow as he grew. As a teen, he looks almost normal. I'm going to wait four Sim days for Charleigh to join him in teenhood before I decided what to do with them. I gave Ostacato Fortune aspiration in case he would end up the one who doesn't get married; it's a safe option. If I decide he is the one to be married, Charleigh will get Romance aspiration. :3

I'm off to walk my dog, as it is beautiful outside and it's supposed to rain Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday.

No comments:

Post a Comment