Friday, April 29, 2011

Angst, Angst, Angst, Failing Tech Ed, Angst, etc

Not much to say again.

I feel kind of bad, since this is likely to be the second to last blog post I write for a long time and I have no exciting plans. I'd say that I'll do something exciting tomorrow, but I just don't think it's going to happen. I have to write an essay about John Steinbeck's writing style for Monday (I finally finished East of Eden! I might have said that yesterday XD), I have to write an Independent Reading Check-In for Monday, I need to re-write my first Independent Reading project and start the second one (both aren't due until the 23rd, though), and I have to revise some pieces I wrote in class for Tuesday. My English teacher...ugh.

And I have to do a French challenge project. I only have a 92% in French. I haven't had less than an A+ all year. I never had less than an A+ in German, either. I mean, I'm anticipating I'll do quite well on the French quiz on Tuesday, especially because I earned 4 extra credit points in class today (usually we don't have opportunities to earn extra credit before a quiz, so that's pretty good).

On the topic of school, I'm going to fail Tech Ed. Maybe I'm being pessimistic, but I actually believe this. First of all, the teacher hates giving A's and A+'s. I mean, he's hilarious, but his grading style makes me want to beat something. He said he'd give us an A for trying our best for the graded drawings we did. I was feeling really good about my drawings, seeing as I'm totally not an artist, and I got B's on both sheets, making my grade an 89% (B+). I know it's not bad, but I'm getting to the actual failing part.

We do a project in Tech Ed where you build a bridge out of (I believe) balsa wood and you try to make it hold as much weight as you can. Before that, we use West Point Bridge Builder on the computer to get a feel for bridges. We did a contest today in class where you took specific modifications for the program and tried to build the cheapest bridge you could with them. Below $200,000 was B range. Below $170,000 was A range. I had almost dipped below $200,000 when the program crashed on my computer, wiping out my entire bridge. I hadn't saved yet. There were 20 minutes left in class.

And the teacher didn't even act understand! He was like, "Oh, the program is really easy to crash." And then walked away. So I had to start from scratch, trying to redo all I had done and more in half the time.

He said we'd have another day to work, so I didn't turn in my bridge design. My grade wouldn't be much better if it turns out we had to turn it in, anyway. Just ugh. So if we don't get another day, I'm going to get no better than a C, and my career in Tech Ed will be pretty much over.

I mean, my mom won't care if I fail. It isn't an academic class, which pushes it way off of her radar screen. She's still pissed that they cut German, and every time I bring up Tech Ed, she says, "Is that required?" I say yes, and she goes on her "they-cut-German-but-you-have-to-take-Tech-Ed" rant and that's that. I don't care too much if I fail Tech Ed, either. My only regret would be not making the Honor Roll, which I've never not made. I've never had less than an A- in a class, actually. I'm only in Middle School, but you'd be surprised how many people get C's and under. Well, maybe you wouldn't be surprised. It's still a lot.

It's not like my college will look at my 8th grade Tech Ed grade, seeing as I'm currently interested in a career in journalism or teaching, and I'd be too much of a wuss to work with all the dangerous machinery even if I deterred from the aforementioned careers.

So that's my rant. I feel like I had something less depressing and less academic to talk about, but I can't remember anymore.

Oh, right.

I'm totally excited for the release of Starship, the new Starkid musical tomorrow. I won't be watching it until May 1st since it isn't being released on YouTube until 10 p.m. Eastern Time and I have to get up for church on Sunday/won't be able to stay awake because I go to sleep early, but I'm still pumped. I'm going to try and get as much work as possible done tomorrow so I don't have to stress while I'm watching.

Until tomorrow~

No comments:

Post a Comment