Heard Edge of Glory by Lady Gaga. Missed my FFN friends. Especially Evan.
Heard Barbara Streissand (?) by Duck Sauce. Missed American television. Especially MasterChef.
Heard Stay by OneRepublic. Missed Harry Potter. I mean, really, what kind of plane has Twilight, New Moon, and Eclipse, but not one Harry Potter movie?
Today we took a trip up to Maastricht in Holland. The first thing we did out of the parking garage was visit the cathedrale "Star of the Sea." Or maybe that wasn't the name, and it's just some piece of history involving it. I'd look it up, but I still don't know the internet password. Another thing I would look up is Maastricht's reputation, as we saw cups with pictures of weed on them above the name of the city while we were buying postcards.
Side note: People think it's weird when you buy twelve postcards at once.
The man selling tickets to look at some of the exhibits off the main church part of the cathedrale deserves a mention. We came across this machine where you pressed the button next to a word, such as children, and the name of the patron saint of that thing would illuminate. We wanted to know what two people where the patron saint of, so we wrote down their name with the corresponding word to ask the man at the desk. He told us, but I can't get over how he didn't know the word for "rope", yet he knew the word "illuminate."
Most of the trip was spent ambling through the streets, taking occasional pictures and sometimes stepping into shops. My uncle bought a new pair of shoes, but other than that the only purchases were nearly twenty postcards, some stamps, and a stick of mentos. Well, aside from lunch.
We eventually settled on eating at an Italian pizzaria, as no one could make a decision. Lucky us, as in most places we had gone that day, our server spoke English. None of us knew Dutch, so it saved us from some awkwardness and embarrassment. I ordered a simple pizza with tomato sauce, cheese, and oregano. The thing was massive; parts of it were jutting out over the sides of the generously-sized dinner plate. I had eaten most of our bread basket--pieces of fresh baguette with a side of garlic butter--so I only managed to eat half of it.
Pizza: 1
Me: 0
Also, the drink portions were hilariously small. Seriously. They had a one-size-suits-all deal, and that size was about that of a perfume bottle. Needless to say, I had to conserve my Pepsi throughout my endeavors with the slightly salty pizza.
Both my mom and my uncle, with whom which I was traveling, ordered lasagna. Each came in a small and round pan, which they later discovered was hot when they both burned themselves on them. My mom went on for a bit about how in America, the servers would tell you to watch out because the dish was hot. She added as an afterthought, "Probably because in the States, a person would sue you if they got burned."
America, lol.
After our meal, we went in search of the post office-like-place (really just a store that had a box for mailing things), because my mom just had to send her postcards straight from Holland. I'm writing mine here and sending them off. Then we got ice cream. These guys only spoke a little English, but they promised there were no nuts in the cappucino ice cream.
"We can sue them if they lied."
No, I was fine, and the ice cream was quite good. An hour later, I'm sitting here writing this blog post while my mom and aunt converse in Polish and my cousin Cornelia listens. She supposedly knows the internet password now, but I'm afraid to ask--don't ask why, because I have no idea--and there's never a break in the conversation to ask, anyway. So I'm stuck missing my FFN friends. :C
I want to watch MasterChef. I think I'll go ask the password. XD And I'm wicked thirsty. They gave me a bag of assorted Haribo candies, and we bought that stick of mentos. A miniature Pepsi is all that I have on my side, and it's starting to get to me.
This post, as well as yesterday's post, will hopefully be up tonight. Or afternoon, for you American folks.
Speaking of those pesky little time zones, I slept until ten of eleven today. To be fair, I didn't really get any sleep from 11:30, when I went to bed, until 3:30 due to my mom's snoring. And when she woke up around six, I was woken up by her walking around. Every minute she was like, "Are you sleeping?"
gjhdfjghbjdfhgjhdfjgn
So then I slept for nearly five hours. I win.
And speaking of bed, my cousins have an awesome shower. You all needed to know that.
Until tomorrow, or whenever I get internet access. ^-^
No comments:
Post a Comment