Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Continental Can Suck My Metaphorical Male Sex Organ - 8.31.2011

FLIGHT DELAYS, YAY.

I'm only kidding. This is utter crap. Buhbuhbuhbuh.

We were supposed to depart at 10am from Brussels. Guess what time it is? If you guessed 1:06pm, then DINGDINGDING, we have a winner. It's rumoured that we're boarding at 2:45pm. Let's hope, young grasshoppers.

I'm lucky in a sense, I guess. I was worried about not having time to study. Guess who has time to study without the distraction of hundreds of movies and tv episodes and crap? This girl.

I decided to write my blog entry now because when I get home, it's going to be like, post the blog and CRASH. It's going to be like, 3am Europe time when we get home, or 9pm EST. And don't forget I have a French test tomorrow at 2pm. I. AM. GOING. TO. DIE.

DX

At least the people here are nice. There's a twenty-seven year old mother with her almost-two-year-old daughter from Montana. The mother is very nice and her daughter is adorable. Then there's this fifteen year old girl who speaks fluent French because she goes to a French-American school in New York. So at least I have help if I need it. I wish I had my textbook. DX People sometimes offer words into our conversations, and they're all nice and helpful.

But like, I want to go home.

If I have to spend the night here, it will be a cool experience, but like, I WANT TO GO HOME. I also want to take my French test, because if this month hasn't taught you anything about me, I'm a massive nerd/geek/dork. LET ME TAKE MY TEST. I WANT TO KNOW MY RESULTS. I WANT TO GET INTO FRENCH-TWO-HONORS. PLEASE, UNIVERSE.

Oh, so I should tell you what even happened. There's some part in the cockpit (haha, cock. I want to be immature if I can't go home.) that's broken. They have to get the part from London to fix it because they can't depart with it malfunctioning. But instead of just sending the part over on a plane from London, they're flying a plane from here to London and back.

I hope they fix that part damn well.

Well, that's basically my day. Security was alright. My candy wasn't taken away, so I'm happy. A while ago I had a Kinder chocolate stick, dubbing it my I've-Been-Studying-Hard-And-Also-I'm-Stuck-In-An-Airport Reward. And now I'm chewing gum. Speaking of said gum, it was very good at first, but I just realized it lost all the flavor. Also, I have to pee.

Oh, lol, so I was buying an "easy pizza" and a Fanta with the 9 Euro voucher they gave us, and I accidentally read the price wrong so I was short ten cents, and I tried to pay with the ten cents from what I think was the tip jar. I'm so smart. XD

The mother sitting across from me is such a good mom. Damn, I want to have a family when I grow up. :3
Yeah, I just lost my train of thought. I'm going to go to the restroom, study more French, and hope we depart on time. Buhbuhbuh.

PoKEMON StATSI haven't gotten to the Pokemon stage of my boredom. I guess, though, that I've proved my sister can entertain herself for the eight hour layover she has. We've already been here for six hours.

Some Little Notes While I'm in the Car:

On the plane, I watched Angus, Thongs, and Perfect Snogging; Confessions of a Shopaholic; and Limitless, as well as four episdoes of 30Rock. For the former two, I know want to read the books, as I usually try to read the books first. I liked both, though both made me wish I had a boyfriend. Especially Angus. DX

Limitless was good, but also weird. But like, Bradley Cooper is hot. XD I don't like watching stabbing and shit, so it wasn't really my type of movie. Especially because he didn't end up a writer. Speaking of his writing, what a tactless book title. You can't just have a kickass summary and a drop-dead-fantastic novel; you need a good title, or readers don't get hooked in to pick it up and read it.

-Bradley Cooper walks in and sees scraped up drug dealer-

Me: Bro, what happened?

Bradley Cooper: Bro, what happened?
Ahahaha, that was amusing. XD

Waiting in line for the bathroom after a long flight is like, "Bro, I haven't taken a piss in ten hours, so kindly get the fuck out of the stall."

I have a headache. And I'm worried for my test. Byeee.

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Le Francais, S'il Vous Plait - 8.30.2011

I woke up this morning and emailed the head of the language department for my school system, just because I wanted him to get an email from 2am his time.

He never responded to my first email about when I would take my French exam, so that was what my query was. Turns out, my test is on Thursdau. That is, September 1st.

Crapcrapcrapcrapcrapcrapcrapcrap.

Not that I haven't studied. I've studied like a boss. I know everything on the list. I'm just worried. But before I worry more about French, let's talk about today.

Around noon we went to this store that was basically what would have been the product of Target and Cosco (Costco?) having a baby, only instead of picking and choosing the genes, they just combined into a massive store with the genes of both parents. It was quite a boss place. I got myself a planner for 9th grade, because while the Middle School gives you assignment books (basically planners), the High School doesn't. And without a concrete log of my assignments (and whether or not I've done them), I would have regular panic attacks. In fact, even with my planner, I sometimes freak out over not handing things in I handed in days ago.

I also bought a lot of candy. I dearly hope the airport security won't stop me because most of my carry-on is candy. It was all too heavy to put in my suitcase. q.q

Thennnn...we came home and I killed some time on the internet and then we ate. I love the internet, did you know? I was quite happy today, just being on the internet. :D

More internet, more internet, found out about French test, procrastinated on internet while occasionally studying.

My mom and I walked to Aldi at one point, where she bought some chocolate.

And that was basically it. More internet and studying. I also finished Drop Shot by Harlan Colban. I hope that's his name. I already packed the book, and I'm too lazy to Google it. It was a fairly good book. Not excellent like Hour Game. I think I prefer serial killer books to one-or-two-murder books. Just more interesting, I guess. This one had it's share of events, but it dragged for me in a lot of places. Also, it wasn't well edited. I found a handful of typos and things, which was annoying to me. When I post a chapter on fanfiction and it has an error or two, that's fine, because I'm one person who edited it, and it also isn't a concrete thing--I can change it and replace the chapter with the edited one. But when multiple people read over a work and then publish it on paper and can't change it anymore and there are errors, that doesn't fly with me.

So, now for my French panic attack. Excuse me while I go through my list with you to make sure I know things. There are no accents on words; I apologise, but I can't go looking up every symbol and I don't know the shortcuts.

Family: grandmere, grandpere, mere, pere, frere, souer, cousin, cousine, tante, oncle, etc
Time/Date: Aujourd'hui c'est mardi le 30 aout. Il est 20 heures 47.
Weather: Il est nuageux, il fait du soleil, il pleut, etc
Food: Une pizza au fromage, un sandwich au pate, une quiche, un croissant, un cafe au lait, un coca, une menth a l'eau, etc
Liks and Dislikes: J'aime chanter, j'aime manger, j'aime jouer au tennis, je n'aime pas danser, je n'aime pas jouer au hocket, je n'aime pas nager, etc
Question Words: Qui, que, quand, ou, pour quoi, comment, parce que
Clothing: un blouson, une veste, un manteau, un short, un tee shirt, un maillot de bain, une ceinture, un chapeau, etc
Present Activities: Je chante, tu chantes, il chante, elle chante, nous chantons, vous chantez, ils chantent, elles chantent, etc
Past Activies: Je chante, tu chante, il chante, elle chante, nous chante, vous chante, ils chante, elles chante, etc (accent over e in chante)
Future Activities: Je vais chanter, tu vas chanter, il va chanter, elle va chanter, nous allons chanter, vous allez chanter, ils vont chanter, elles vont chanter, etc
Buildings/Location: une ecole, un cinema, une plage, un stade, un hotel, un cafe, un garage, une chambre, etc
Prepositions: devant, derrier, sur, sous, dans
Possesions/Objects: un stylo, une guitare, une sac, un livre, un velo, une radio, un informatique, une affiche, etc
-er verbs: Je mange, tu manges, il mange, elle mange, nous mangeons, vous mangez, ils mangent, elles mangent
avoir: to have. J'ai, tu as, il a, elle a, nous avons, vous avez, ils ont, elles ont
aller: to go. Je vais, tu vas, il va, elle va, nous allons, vous allez, ils vont, elles vont
etre: to be. Je suis, tu es, il est, elle est, nous sommes, vous etes, ils sont, elles sont
-ir verbs: Je choisis, tu choisis, il choisit, elle choisit, nous choisissons, vous choisissez, ils choisissent, elles choisissent
-re verbs: Je perds, tu perds, il perd, elle perd, nous perdons, vous perdez, ils perdent, elles perdent (the game)
faire: to do, make, take. Je fais, tu fais, il fait, elle fait, nous faisons, vous faites, ils font, elles font
mettre: to put, put on, place, turn on, wear. Je mets, tu mets, il met, elle met, nous mettons, vous mettez, ils mettent, elles mettent
venir: to come. Je venis, tu venis, il venit, elle venit, nous venissons, vous venissez, ils venissent, elles venissent (haha, venis XDD)
Negative Form: ne and pas around the verb, can only be seperated by one word
Demonstrative Adjectives: ce, cette, ces
Colors: Blanc, noir, vert, bleu, gris, marron, orange, rose, rouge, jaune
Nationalities: Francais, francaise, anglais, anglaise, americain, americaine, etc
Size: Grand, petit, etc
Personality: Amusant, intelligent, interessant, mechant, bete, sympathique, timide, gentil, mignon, sportif
General Description: Grand, petit, brun, blond, beau, belle, jolie, jeune
Possessive Adjectives: mon, ma, mes, ton, ta, tes, son, sa, ses, notre, votre, leur
Past Tense:
 -er: J'ai chante, tu as chante, il a chante, elle a chante, nous avons chante, vous avez chante, ils ont chante, elles ont chant
 -ir: J'ai fini, tu as fini, il a fini, elle a fini, nous avons fini, vous avez fini, ils ont fini, elles ont fini
 -re: J'ai perdu, tu as perdu, il a perdu, elle a perdu, nous avons perdu, vous avez perdu, ils ont pedu, elles on perdu
Past Tense Aller: Form of etre in front of alle (masculine), alles (masculine plural), allee (feminine), allees (feminine plural). Accent over first e.

And that's all I need to know. YAAAAY. Now I can sleep easy. Not really. Night, y'all~

PoKEMON StATS

NO TIME, MUST STUDY.

Monday, August 29, 2011

I'm Going To Get Lost in High School - 8.29.2011

Apparently, last night my cousins' cat came in and tried to sleep on my stomach. Unfortunately, my mom kicked her out and closed the door. DX

So, today, I woke up.

And then I ate breakfast.

WHOOO. INTERNET. WHOOO. Unfortunately, my cousins' router likes to turn itself off at random times, which makes doing stuff difficult. But still. It's, like, internet.

At one point while the router was off, I did some French-studying. Made a short rap about possessive adjectives, and another about feminine buildings and locations. I'm so cool. XD Apparently, one of the other kids who was studying over the summer took the test today, while no one responded to my email about it. Boooo. I also missed orientation today. Buhbuhbuh.

We went out for lunch, where I ate a massive pork chop covered in sauce and a side of french fries with a glass of Fanta.

Then we came home...

MORE INTERNET, WHOOO.

Then we (that is, me, my mom, my aunt, my uncle) went into town and I spent all my Euros, plus some of my uncle's Euros, on a new bag and wallet. They're just so cute. I couldn't resist. ._.

We ate ice cream~ :D

Then we came home again.

MORE INTERNET, WHOOOOOO. XD

Me, my cousin, my other cousin, and one of my cousin's friends went bowling. I'm awful at bowling, as it so happens. And I drank an awful Virgin Colada. The one I had at Arizona Pizza was much better. Anyway, I may be awful at bowling, but I happen to be quite good at air hockey. we played two-on-two air hockey, which was fantastic. Then we got take out pizza at this place where my cousin used to work, so everyone was super nice and they all knew him.

Though they messed up one of our orders, and we ended up with a tunafish pizza. XP

Then we played Super Smash Brothers Brawl, which was especially fun because my brother sold our copy of it. -.-

And then more internet. I recently realized (meaning a few minutes ago) how much I truly love Tumblr. I don't know how I lived without it for so many dies. However, a Tumblr post just scared me pretty bad, and now I'm afraid to go shower. But I have to go shower, because I'm a neat freak. So I guess I should go shower.

PoKEMON StATS

"We're talking about how we miss being young and playing Pokemon all day."

"...I still do that."

Being a kid is awesome. Unfortunately, my French comes first. BON NUIT~ (I think that's good night...don't hold me to that...XD)

Snore - 8.28.2011

"Where are we going?"

"To brunch and then to Something-Land."

"Well, I'd better put my hair up if we're going to Something-Land."

Today me, my mom, my uncle, my aunt, my two cousins, and my cousin's girlfriend all set out for Phantasia Land, a rollar coaster-theme park deal.

Before entering the park, we went to the Hotel Ling Bao, which is on the grounds, and ate from a massive brunch buffet. In one sitting I ate mini sausages; bacon; a mini roll with cheese and tomato; a mini croissant; some meat; some teriyaki meat; white rice; pinapple; grapefruit juice; chicken nuggets; french fries; ketchup; sparkling water; a waffle with kiwi jam and pineapple; a waffle with mango jam, chocolate sprinkles, and watermelon; a bowl of watermelon; a handful of gummy bears; a stick of cotton candy; and a few sips of a 10-fruit juice.

The key to the kids buffet is walking in like you own the place.

I ate a fortune cookie, and my fortune was, "A flirt excites you." Minutes later, a dragon winked at me during a show. Then an attractive asian man came out with a whip and had some fun with the dragon. That was intentional, get your mind out of the gutter.

Rides, rides, rides. Roller coasters, roller coasters, roller coasters.

Nothing super-mega-note-worthy to mention, really. They had this new ride thing that was kind of cool called "Maus au Chocolat" where you had this shooter thing and you shot the mice and it was in 3D and you got points and this is boring for you, I know.

I'm tired, bro.

So like, today I ate ridiculous amounts of food and then went on a ton of roller coasters. And now I'm tired. I had fun today, but I'm also ready to go home.

And I'm also tired.

COOL STORY, BRO. TELL IT AGAIN, BRO.

I had things I wanted to say. But I'm tired.

PoKEMON StATS
I'm tir... -snore-

I Am Not Whining, I Am Complaining - 8.27.2011

Something I forgot to mention yesterday:

I quoted Rarity to my mom. 8D

Today~

I was going to rejoice my having internet, but while I was beginning my frolick through the interwebs, the connection disappeared and it won't come back. Boo.

Anyway, when I woke up this morning, it was another picture-perfect beach day. However, I had to pack my last few things and eat and then await our departure to the airport. We took a taxi there, leaving behind my sister and grandmother.

Airport security was tighter than any other place on this trip. They had me take my darling netbook out of my bag and ran it through the machine three times, as well as opened and inspected it. What did my dear ever do to them? -snuggles netbook-

Then we sat in the gate area for an hour and a half ish. They announced the gate we were going to depart from, then they changed their minds and had us switch to the gate that was going to Stockholm. There was a mad dash as the Stockholm and Dortmund flights switched places, which I thought was rather funny.
And then some woman had some sort of panic attack or asthma attack or something. ._.

I got some sleep on the short flight, apparently sleeping through the bout of turbulance that we encountered. I assume that was when I drooled all over my iPod. Grosssss.

Getting luggage, driving, driving, driving.

Right. -clap- So we made it to Casa My Uncle. We ate dinner and then went to Kaufland, because they needed to and my mom and I wanted to buy German candy. Which I bought lots of. :D My suitcase is so pleasantly full of foreign candies. It makes me happy inside.

Then...nothing else exciting happened. The weather has been cloudy, sunny, sprinkly, and rainy since we got here. Good ol' German weather. We watched some of my uncle's black and white (and then some fuzzy color) home movies. My high-school-senior-brother misses his mom. I believe we may be going to the amusement (you have no idea how long it took me to spell that; I kept try "amusant," which is French) park tomorrow. ^-^

NOW GIVE ME MY INTERNET, YOU HO.

0D

PoKEMON StATSHey, guess what? Shut up.

P.S. I've had Hey Molly by Mike Lombardo stuck in my head for days. I want to buy it. As well as Fuck You by Cee Lo Green. I'm usually not a mainstream person, but it's damn catchy. Oh snap. XD

WHOO, BEACH DAY - 8.26.2011

Quickly, one thing I believe I left out of yesterday's blog post:

There was a guy playing guitar on the street in Gdansk. Instead of having a sign about some deadly disease or impoverishment he was dealing with, the sign simply said, "I'm perfectly healthy; the money's for beer." We gave him a few zloty and my mom had me take a picture of her with him. As we were walking away, he said in English, "At least it's true." :'D

So, anyway.

Today was my last day in Poland. Tomorrow we're driving to the airport early and flying back to Germany. It was a lovely last day, though.

We woke up to a thick, dripping fog. My mom and I went to the bakery two hours after they opened (t'was 8am) so my mom could get this one pastry I can't spell that she hadn't had since she'd gotten here. We ended up buying a hefty load of pastries, a load we probably won't finish, as it's mostly still there. Guess what's for breakfast? 8D

The fog burned off quickly, leaving a cloudless blue sky. We headed off to the beach at a time that was probably around 9:30am, and we stayed there until a little before two. I'm fairly certain I have some sunburn, but I don't mind, and if I complain my sister will tell me I should've worn sunscreen. My mom didn't wear any, either. Anyway, once we got to our spot I started building a sand castle that ended up being pretty boss. Then I went in the water. However, I got scared out by all the jellyfish I kept nearly walking into.
I was beginning to get bored of lying around and reading when the waves began to pick up. The sea had been at a near standstill all day, so I leapt at the chance to stand in the waves and soak my burning skin. But alas, this was my sandcastle before the waves:


And this was how it fared afterwards:

Boooo.

Anyway, my sister and I went to the pier so she could check something and I could look up the weight limit on suitcases for our flight. Then we walked back to our mom, and the three of us went to what is apparently called a "milk bar." It's basically like a cafeteria. Only not a crappy grade school cafeteria. Like a college cafeteria. Once we ate we went to the candy store, where my mom and I loaded up on Polish sweets (I spent nearly all my money--40.42 zloty--there).

The guy working there was super nice. We told him that he was basically the nicest guy we'd met, and he said that he just worked at that kind of store. I, of course, couldn't understand a word he was saying, but he seemed like a seriously awesome guy.

We dashed home, changed, hopped on a bus, then a train, and we were at my sister's godmother's mother's apartment (she's another great-aunt of mine, as it turns out). She lives on the top floor of a fancy building in a gated community. And she doesn't even rent it--she owns it. She remodeled the crap out of the place, apparently, and it's full of expensive-looking furniture. And it has two balconies.

With her, we ambled a bit around Sopot. We walked down the big pier and ate a small dinner down there. My sister has been trying to get a Zywiec* (a Polish beer) glass, and when we asked about it there the waitress said we could discuss it later, and she brought it out after our dishes. So that was nice. ^-^

...And then we came home.

Oh, I wanted to say that now that I know that my mother's aunt lives in a fancy apartment and drives an Audi, I want to say that she's just how I imagined Remington Battle. Only much nicer.

The three of us dropped by the house of our other grandparents so my mom and I could say goodbye, and then we all came home and I went through the list of things I brought so I didn't leave anything behind and packed my suitcase to bursting point with all the things I bought.

I'll see you in Germany, dearies~

PoKEMON StATS
Abuhbuhbuh.

*I should mention that most of the Polish words I've used here (Zywiec, zloty, nalisnicowo, etc) have accents on them and thus are spelled incorrectly on here.

Creepy Old Man, And Also My Legs - 8.25.2011

I want to start this blog post with something other than, "Today I...," but that isn't really working out.
Today after breakfast my sister headed off to our other grandparents' house to do some work while my mom and I went back downtown to blow some money (or I did). The first two kiosks we went to didn't have tickets, which we thought was stupid, and the guy was really rude at the third one. My mom told him, "I wasn't in Poland for 25 years, but the rudeness hasn't changed at all," before we ran off to catch the fancy tramway that was waiting to leave. We made it. ^-^

A little before we had to get off the tramway, I let an old man take my seat. He gave me a load of compliments that could be summed up in, "You're nice to look at because you don't wear make-up."

...

Creepy old man was creepy. On that note, my grandmother has continued to talk about how nice my legs are.

We went into the Empik in the tunnel under the tracks, where I bought, though I may regret it, a murder mystery. My mom wanted to ask an employee a question, so I had her also ask for me where the English books where. They had several books by Harlan Coben (seriously, half the English books they had--which admittedly wasn't a large number--where by him), so I read the backs of all of them and picked Drop Shot, which seemed the most interesting. No judgements until I finish, though, bro.

Then we walked for a bit. I wanted to go to this souvenier (oh, I can't spell it) shop we'd been to to check the price of a Polska sweatshirt (66 zloty--I didn't buy it), and possibly get some things for friends. My mom thinks I'm stupid for buying gifts for friends. I just...don't get her...buh. I also bought myself a Polska beanie, because why not? 8D

We stopped by some other places, and also walked along the amber-selling street, where I got my mom to buy me a little pendant in the shape of a pig. Not amber, but cute and inexpensive.

After we got off the tramway (another of the newest ones, with the AC actually on), we bought some things from the bakery as well as raspberries and tomatoes from a stand. Then we ate lunch and called my sister, who came over and the three of us went to the beach. It wasn't really beach weather, but we walked for a while and then they sat and I built a sandcastle and then we went home.

On the way back we bought some pastries from another bakery and my mom bought some candy to try so she'd know what to buy tomorrow and we bought mint tea and then we came home.

Before supper, my grandmother's friend and her fifteen-year-old granddaughter came over. My sister and I talked with the girl for a bit before they left and then we ate.

This blog post is super exciting, I know.

Tomorrow is supposed to be hot and sunny, so we're planning to hit the beach and then sightsee in Sopot at 4 with my sister's godmother's mother like we had planned when we went to see her.

Cool story, bro.

PoKEMON StATS
I think Blitzle is dubbed as such because the German word for "lightning" is "blitz."

I Am a Hufflepuff - 8.24.2011

This morning we hit a bit of a rough patch. It was too late to go to Malbork and still have time to see things there by the time any decision was made, and my mom got emotional and it was tense until my sister came up with the idea to go to the park in Oliwa.

We walked there, because why not? It took us an hour and fifteen minutes. It started thundering around the one hour mark, and my mom really just wanted to take cover. We did take one picture, but it ended up being the only one. We went to the big greenhouse to look around for a few minutes before heading over to the cathedrale for the organ demonstration. It was very cool. When we went to the Mozartiana finale, I thought the horns and things on the organs might just be decorations for the event, and if not just decorations in general. But the horns move and the wheels spin and the hands ring the bells. Watching it was sweet, and the music was good as well.

It had been pouring for a few minutes while we were in there, but it was only sprinkling when we left. We ended up going to the museum there, which was my favorite museum by far. It wasn't just dark portraits and things for the 19th century. There were lots of contemporary pieces (though also some works from the 1800s) that were cool to look at it. Yeah. T'was nice.

When we left, it was really coming down. My mom got pissed when the umbrella I had was too small for both me and her and we couldn't find a taxi and she didn't want to walk around during a thunderstorm. Eventually, however, we circled back to in front of the cathedrale. My mom snapped at the guy using the pay phone after a few mintues of standing there, but he turned out to be very helpful despite her mood. He told us how to work the phone, and when we didn't have a phone card he used his mobile phone (it's cheaper to call Russia from the pay phone, did you know?) to call us an inexpensive taxi. My mom apologized for her rudeness and we made it home just fine.

At home, we ate dinner and the sat around for a few hours. Finally, at five, my mom and I went for a walk on the beach. My sister didn't want to come, as she was tired and had been having stomach issues all day. On the way there my mom apologized for her recent behavoir and explained it slightly. I told her the short version of what I'm about to tell you now.

I'm in Europe. Plain and simple, I. Am. In. Europe. I'm on an expensive vacation, trotting around foreign countries, sight-seeing and eating. I am lucky. I recognize that many people can't take vacations like this. Just the fact that I am here makes me happy. Sure, I have my complaints. But no matter how much I may miss having internet access 24/7, I'm just so lucky to have this opportunity, especially because this is my 3rd trip to the area. God forbid I don't have a good time.

Then my mom made some comments that sealed the deal of my Hufflepuff-ness, and we walked to the pier to use the internet.

My mom's now basically decided to give up on going to Malbork after the bus service website was being difficult. I'm sorry she made that decision, not because I was dying to go (I don't really know anything about it), but because she seemed to really want to go. She said it was a huge dissapointment, but she also said that she really wanted my sister and I to see it, like she wanted my brother and I to see it two years ago, and that she'll live. She said we're young and can come back. I said it could be incentive (insentive?) for her to come back, because she's said earlier in the trip that she'd probably never come back after this trip.

She made more comments that stamped me forever as a Hufflepuff.

We stopped at the supermarkter on the way back for toothpaste, of which we bought none, though I bought a generous amount of Prince Polos as it's time I begin to binge-buy candy to eat after I get home.
Then I studied some French and ate, and now I'm here.

Oh, so I finished Hour Game this morning. Like I've said, it was a very good book. I enjoyed reading it immensely, and I'm thinking about reading more books by the author. The reason that I'm thinking about it rather than planning to take action about it is because I'm a bit too easily made paranoid for murder mysteries. Last night I kept glancing over my shoulder in the basement shower, and got deep into thought about murder and death.

I don't really remember exactly what I wanted to say about death. I tried to get my mind off it afterwards so that I wouldn't be so paranoid. I know that I wanted to say that the idea of murder scares me. Like those stabbings that happen in the streets at night. Imagine walking, maybe with a friend, maybe alone, maybe drunk, maybe laughing, and then suddenly you're stabbed. Maybe you feel the knife slice through your skin...
I don't want to talk about it. It makes me queasy and paranoid and emotional. People have different opinions about death. There was the guy Alaska Young quoted in Looking For Alaska by John Green, the quote being, "Damn it! How will I ever get out of this labrynth?" They were somebody's last words, though I can remember whose. Alaska had her way, which was "straight and fast." But not everyone is trying to get out of the labrynth. Some are content to wander the halls, catching life's throws and juggling their destiny. Of course, they'll eventually find a way out. But choosing for someone? I know I don't want to get out straight and fast. I'm content to wander.

Of course, now I'm paranoid of everything I say, especially to the blog, thanks to Eddie Battle of Hour Game. It's weird how a few days ago I talked about how comfortable I am talking to my blog, and now I'm wondering if the things I say here could get me killed.

This is why I'm only thinking about reading more of David Baldacci's books, folks.

Anyway, while basically everything else in the book pleased me, the pacing was a bit irksome. It moved too quickly at first, and then when I got used to it it slowed right back down and had me flying through the pages for more. As paranoid and squeamish as I am, I began to anticipate the next move of the serial killer more than annything else in the story.

I think I'll head off to bed now.

PoKEMON StATS

...

Adorable Restaurant is Adorable - 8.23.2011

Firstly, a few things I forgot to say in yesterday's blog post.

1. While we were walking...was it to the beach? Was that yesterday? It seems like ages ago... Well, anyway, at one point I was walking behind a girl with shorts that literally only covered half of her butt. Have some class. Then she looked at bras in a little shop alongside the supermarket.

2. When we were getting on the tramway (as it turns out, it's spelled tramway, not trumway. Sorry, folks) to wherever it was we were going, I can't be bothered to think back to it, there was a guy lying on the side of the road. Someone was calling 999 (like 991) and another guy was holding his head so it wouldn't be on the pavement. We don't know if he was just drunk or if he'd had a seizure for something, but yeah.

3. That car we drove in to the house of my mom's cousin? Turns out it costs 200,000 Euros. An Audi 7 or something, maybe 8, what do I know about cars? Either way, I figured it was fancy and expensive, but not that fancy and expensive. The thing had every option you could put in it. Big GPS screen with built in telephone, touch pad to write out the number you're looking for, it stops itself if you aren't paying attention, it has boss temperature control, and was basically a srs bsnss car.

Right-e-o then, on to today.

After breakfast we rushed over to the downtown area to board the 10am pirate ship to Westerplatte, the place where World War II started. We just made it to the ship, and then settled in for the 45-minute-ish trip to the monument. Mainly, we just sailed through the shipyards, and some guy was saying things in Polish, English, and German over the intercom about where we were, but I couldn't understand the English portions well and then gave up and just took pictures of the massive boats.

We landed and then walked along a path with some historical foundations of buildings and little explanations of what they were, finally coming to the big monument at the end. It was cool to go there, especially because every time I've come to Poland I've gone to the beach and people point and say, "Look, there's Westerplatte; that's where World War II started." Cool story, bro. Can we go?

We had the times wrong for the ships, so we sat waiting for a while before getting on and heading back to Gdansk. On the way back, we listened to the live music we were promised. It was nice. The guy had two CDs, and my mom bought one for my sister, who then realized she wanted the other one, and it was just...
Neither of them seem to be having a very good time here. My mom keeps complaining about her mother and about how people are rude and about how my sister complains, while my sister complains about my mom pressuring her into things and rushing everywhere and how we have to meet family and sit around eating with them, and it's just stressful. I'm having a good time. I'm in freaking Europe, and as much as I miss my dear internet, I'd be happy no matter what we did. I just wish they could relax a bit and go with the flow. My mom is just as stressed out here as she is at home. So what's the point?

Well, anyway.

We ate at this adorable restaurant-place called Nalisnikowo. "Nalisniki" is the Polish word for crepes, so as you can guess, it was a creperie. I fell in love the moment we walked in. It's full of cheery pastel colors and the outside tableclothes have polka dots on them and the menus were pink and they had English versions and everyone was nice and no one fed me nuts. The food was also fantastic and surprisingly filling. I love that place.

Then we meant to rush home because we were going to meet my sister's godmother's mother in Sopot at four, but we swung by the amber museum gift shop so my sister could check something (where I bought something for a friend), and then we also swung by the amber-selling-street so I could buy the necklace I'd seen the other two times I was there (and my sister bought a necklace as well), and then while we were walking to the tramway stop I bought another little gift for a different friend.

Our luck had been good until today with tramways, and we had to wait a bit for the right one to come. We didn't get back until a little after four, so we called to apologized and then quickly got ready and took a taxi there.

We sat eating cake and tea for a bit. I kept myself amused by watching my sister's godmother's two sons playing. They're five and three--the first was a few weeks old when I first came to Poland. The six of us began to walk towards the pier in Sopot, but my sister's aunt's godmother and the two boys turned back before we got there. We checked it out, but didn't pay to go on. We then walked to the train station and took a train to where the Alfa Centrum is. We couldn't find a stop for the right bus or a tramway that would get us home for a while, and we'd walked roughly half the way there before coming across a bus stop. We took a bus home.

I didn't eat supper, because though it was just after nine I was totally beat and went straight to the shower. My feet kill. I'm probably forgetting things I wanted to say here. Like that the train "wasn't quite the Hogwarts Express" and that a guy at the monument was wearing a Harry Potter t-shirt and that I gave some money to some hilarious* breakdancers who were also good at breakdancing and the guy whose hat I put money into gave me a fistbump. :D

I'm close to done with Hour Game. I really do like it a lot. I'm saving all my final thoughts and musings about paranoia and death and Alaska Young and the labrynth (labrinth? Oh, I'm tired) for when I've finished.

PoKEMON StATS
Hush, I'm reading.

*I don't speak Polish, but what I could understand was hilarious and they just seemed like cool guys.

I Almost Died - 8.22.2011

(Today's blog post contains some srs bsnss swear words. Remember, kids, that fuck is a bad word. ^-^)

Today, I almost died.

I was walking along the water in the downtown area of Gdansk when a man grabbed at my arm. I swiftly dealt a knee to his balls and twisted my arm out of his grip using a trip I learned from the two weeks of karate camp I attended in elementary school. He recovered quickly from the pain in his groin and slugged me in the stomach. I toppled over the railing, but quickly caught the bar with the backs of my knees and flipped back up...

As you've probably guessed, the story above is "faaaaake." Hush, troll, I know. I did almost die today, though. You'll hear about the story later on when I get to it.

We slept in today, which was nice. After breakfast we headed out for a walk on the beach. The weather was very nice, and we contemplated going back for bathing suits. In the end we resolved to feed the birds with the bread we'd brought and access the internet, then decide what to do. It was chilly and cloudy when my sister finished up on her laptop, so we decided to walk home for money and go to the Alfa Centrum to see if we could buy an adaptor plug for my sister.

So, of course, once we decided not to go to the beach, it was lovely beach weather all day.
According to the guy behind the counter at the electronics store we went to, you can only buy Europe-to-America adaptors here, and not the other way around. We walked around the mall, though, since my sister hadn't been there. We stopped by H&M, where I bought a hat and scarf because I have too much money and nothing to do with it.

We had taken a bus to the mall, but we walked back and ate at a restaurant by the beach. When my sister ordered a beer, they asked if she wanted juice with it, which apparently was funny.
Then we headed home to drop off our purchases and change clothes, then we took a trumway to Gdansk because we were meeting two of my mom's cousins at the Neptune fountain.

After walking around for a big with my two aunts, the five of us sat down in a restaurant to have coffee and desert.

So there I was, innocently eating the ice cream I'd ordered. After discovering it had raisins in it, I began to get a little wary. I carefully chewed the fruits, being relieved each time they were chewy. Then came one that looked suspicious. It should be mentioned that when I was tested for allergies when I was six, all the tree nuts but one were a five (the highest), and the last one was a four. I carefully touched my tooth to the thing, and found it to not be a raisin. I quickly spat out the bit of skin into my napkin and wiped my mouth furiously before asking my mom what it was.

A fucking hazelnut.

They put fucking nuts in my fucking ice cream even after we fucking told them that I have severe fucking allergies to the mother fuckers.

I hadn't eaten it, but I took a Benadryl pill just in case and shoved the ice cream away, sticking to my iced coffee. I have this problem where I sometimes scare myself into thinking I have allergy symptons. I just sat there, feeling like the walls were squishing me, staring up at the cathedrale I could see through the window and being scared. I told my mom I wanted to leave, but my uncle had just come, so my sister and I went for a walk. I felt much better outside. With my mind off it, I stopped scaring myself and acknowledged that nothing was going to happen.

But I kept shivering, and I nearly cried leaving the restaurant. I'm nearly crying now, but my mom and sister are in the room. I was just very shaken. This wasn't like when you almost get hit by a car or something. This is like, that little round nut could have closed off my windpipe and I would've stopped breathing and fucking died.

This is why I like routine. When I diverge from my routine, shit happens. The one time I wore mis-matched socks, my shoes fell off running the mile on the outdoor track in gym class and I had to finish it in just my socsk, getting them utterly filthy. I didn't go to church yesterday, and today I almost died. I'm usually not superstitious, but I like my routine, and fate likes it, too.

By the way, at the restaurant my mom ordered the most hardcore thing I've ever seen her drink (the previous being a few sips of wine at special occaions): a White Russian. Forty milliliters of Vodka Sobieski, twenty milliliters of Kahlua, and forty milliliters of milk.

As we were leaving the restaurant, my mom wanted to take a picture of us on the steps. Then she kindly asked a passer-by in Polish if he could take a picture, and she explained how to work her camera.
"Ok, I didn't understand a word of that, but I think I can do it."

Guy turned out to be from Montreal, lol. Totally made my day. After being all trembly and scared about the round little ball of death, it was just hilarious, and I mean, meeting a real live Canadian? If you're reading this, Evan, tell Rowan all about how I met an honest-to-God Canadian. I'm so cool, eh?

0D

We drove over to my younger aunt's condominium-house place in her husbands ridiculously fancy car. We met her son there, who was an interesting character. The place was a little cluttered, kind of ornamental. Lots of little pieces and wooden furniture and things. I was kind of tired and shaken and didn't really want to be there.

Now I'm home and just...

I dunno.

Hey, interent friends? I'd never leave without telling you guys. So if I drop off the face of the forum, then I've actually dropped off the face of the planet. Even if my parents took my computers and grounded me from the internet for the rest of my life, I'd hop on at school or ask a fried to log in for me to let you guys know.

Okay? Okay.

Night, y'all.

PoKEMON StATS
Still the same. I have no time to play teh Pokemons. DX

Awkward Old Men - 8.21.2011

Today was a slow day in comparison to the past few days, but it wasn't as if we didn't do anything.
My mother got up wicked early to go to the 6:30am mass, without asking my sister and I to come. She claimed she was tired of our complaining. I felt bad, because when I was saying I didn't want to go to church it was late and I was tired and cold and worried about failing BEDA and being stupid.

After breakfast the three of us headed off to the beach. Once we walked to our usual spot (as proclaimed by my mom), my sister and I went back to the pier to use the free internet. :D At one point, my sister got up to see if she could get better connection a little farther down the pier. An old man sat down in her place on the bench, and at one point asked me a question in Polish.

"...I don't speak Polish."

"Tso?!"

"...I don't speak Polish."

That awkward moment when an old man sits down next to you and asks you a question in a language you don't understand.

And I'm fairly certain I spelled "tso" wrong up there. IT MEANS "WHAT", OKAY? XD

My head hurts a little...

A little under an hour of internet time later, we headed back to my mom and chilled on the beach for a while. Around 12:30 we left because the clouds had rolled in and one of my mom's aunts (her father's sister, I believe), was supposed to be by for coffee around four.

On the way back we bought some cake and cheese and frozen pierogis, and then walked in around one to find that our guest was already there. The next few hours were mainly spent, by me at least, eating and listening. Eventually I headed upstairs to read some more, and then at a time that I believe was around five, my sister and I walked over to visit our other grandparents.

Over there I mainly just read more, stopping to listen to some conversation and to eat pancakes. It's really my godmother who knows how to work the internet over there, so I didn't get on. I'm not complaining, though. Hour Game by David Baldacci is really very good. It isn't perfect, but I'll save my in-depth thoughts for when I've finished it.

We got back not long ago, and I showered and now I'm here. I thought of some flesh-out information of the alternate universe of my tentative NaNoWriMo novel (not The Perpetual Business of a Quality Fish Store, I'm afraid), so I think I'll skip off to write that down.

Kiss-kiss,

I miss Vivid. DX

PoKEMON StATS
They still haven't changed. :/

Sunday, August 21, 2011

THE FOOD. LET ME DEVOUR IT. - 8.20.2011

11:34 pm. But I was worried it would be midnight by the time we got home, so this is good.

Today I awoke after six hours of sleep at six in the morning. For two hours I lay around, trying yet failing to get back to sleep, but not being able to keep my eyes open if I wanted to. At eight, I admitted to myself that it was time to get up and get ready. We were supposed to be getting picked up at nine to head over to the farm where we have family members.

After getting dressed, I ate a crossaint and some grapes. We weren't sure if we were having breakfast over there as well, so we ate a little just in case.

The guy picking us up--my uncle--ended up being forty-five minutes late due to his work, so I did some reading while we were waiting for him. Then me, my mom, my sister, and my grandmother all piled into his car and we began the hour-long drive to the farm.

We took a detour on the way there to look at another cathedrale--Pelplin. We paid our way in and I assure you, it was totally worth it. The place is massive and positively gorgeous. It's true beauty couldn't be captured no matter how many pictures I took, but I tried my best. There was a crew setting up flowers and candles and things for a wedding there. I wonder how much it costs to get married there...

Food was served almost the moment we walked in the door. We were greeted by my mother's aunt. I wish I could talk to this woman. She just seems to upbeat and awesome. Like a gameshow host or a younger, foreign Betty White. Plus, ohmigosh, her cooking. That food tasted like falling in love. Everything was homemade, from the cakes to the sauces, straight down to the noodles in the chicken soup. They live on a farm, like I've said, so they grow a lot of what they eat. Anyway, the food was just fantastic. Like, MasterChef fantastic. Though I don't think she would qualify for MasterChef because in the winter, when the farm is inactive, she cooks for weddings. She cooked all the food for my parents' wedding. I want her to cook for my wedding. Did I mention that the food was phenomenal?

Also, they gave me wine. I know the legal drinking age here is 18, so I thought it was odd. The following conversation occured between my sister and I once she took a sip of her own drink:

"So, is it wine?"

"Yup. Guess they think you're old enough."

"I'm kind of scared to try it."

"Don't get wasted."

Eventually, I took a sip. I almost chickened out when the smell reached my nose, but I managed to take a little sip. Tasted about as good as it smelled: that is, like piss. Seriously, why do people drink wine? Excuse me while I go wash out my mouth.

So lately I've been meeting a lot of family members, and I'm starting to lose track. Below is a quick list of the family members I know of.

In America:
-mom
-dad
-sister
-sister
-brother
-godmother
-godfather
-uncle
-aunt
-three cousins

In Germany:
-uncle
-aunt
-two cousins

In Poland:
-mom's mother
-dad's parents
-mom's mother's two sisters--my great aunts
-uncle that lives with grandmother
- my uncle, Woytek, and his brothers--three sets of aunts and uncles
-four cousins from those three sets
-great aunt and uncle at farm
-three sets of aunts and uncles met at farm
-six cousins met at farm

And that isn't even including the parents of my aunt in America and my aunt and Germany, and everyone that they are related to. I was so used to having a neat little family that I could keep easy tabs on. Now my mind has been blown.

11:52pm.

We eventually left the farm, laden with gifts despite the fact that we were the ones visiting them and they had cooked us the fantastic meal and like, they didn't have to. A few minutes after we got back, we called a taxi and drove over to the Oliwa cathedrale for a concert my mother and sister really wanted to go to--the finale of the Mozart festival thigns, Mozartiana. There was a bit of a misconception, so we waited in the cold for a while before getting in and buying tickets. We met some guy with a son who lived in London and had a British accent. :D

Then we had a half hour to kill, so we went to the Oliwa cemetary where some family members are buried. My mom wanted to see the grave of her father. I don't really want to get into the family grave parts, because anything interesting related to it is really more my mom's story to tell, and I'm low on time to get into all the details of my day. There was one grave that was buried in bouquets of flowers, so we assume the funeral was today.

The concert was nice, though I spent the whole time focusing on not falling asleep. The place was packed and probably sold out. The music wasn't exactly my favorite--more the kind you play in the background at Christmas parties--but it sounded very good and was altogether an enoyable thing, I suppose.
We walked for a bit before finally finding a big post that said TAXI, and a taxi eventually came and took us home. Two minutes to midnight, so I'm signing off for tonight. I've probably missed something, but.

PoKEMON StATS
Same as yesterday, no time to copy and paste.

GOTTA CATCH 'EM ALL - 8.19.2011

Another long day. It's currently 11:28 pm, so it's a good thing I can type fast.

This morning I was worried we wouldn't go anywhere before the house we were invited to for dessert and supper, as it was thundering and there was lightning and it was raining pretty hard. However, the weather eased up and we woke up my sister, finally heading back downtown at 11am.

My mom really wanted to go to the National Museum of Poland. It's free on Fridays, and thank goodness it was. There really wasn't much to see, since they are working on exhibits that won't be open until at least partway through September. We did get to see the famous painting (a tri-something) of the road to heaven, purgatory, and hell that used to hang in St. Katherine's church that we visited yesterday. I believe it was actually still there when I first came here five years ago, because I remember seeing it and trying not to pay attention to it, because I had just turned nine and was still innocent.

We stopped by a few other churches, two of which didn't let you inside the church and you just had to look through a gate (St. Barbara and one other). The third was St. Peter and Paul's, which was beautiful, just like every other church here.

Originally, we thought we were going to be picked up at 4:30pm to go to dessert/supper (a time that was changed to 6pm), so we were under a bit of a time crunch. We walked down Mariacka Street, which is where all the amber jewelry shops are. The reputable ones, anyway. My sister wants to buy amber earrings, so we looked for a bit. I really like the ones with a sun that has an amber center, with silver sunbeams off of it. Fail description, but it's late.

When we got back, we had dinner. It was around 3:30 when we sat down to eat, because the potatoes needed to cook and the fish cakes needed to be heated up. Around four, we got a call saying we'd be picked up at six instead. We went to the little shop next door to the house to buy Calypso ice cream, which my mom grew up on. Then my sister and I grabbed our netbooks and headed with my mom to the pier to see if we could access the internet via the free wifi hotspot.

AND IT WORKED. :D

Unfortunately, it also began pouring rain like a boss, and we ended up speed-walking home and having roughly five minutes to get ready before my mom's cousin came to take us to his place in Gdynia.
Their condiminium-house deal is a sweet number. They have a brown-and-cream/white theme going on in the living and dining room floor. The furniture is wood-modern, and the floors are made up of different fancy tiles. Very nice. The rest of the house is just lovely as well, with a luxury bathroom and some awesome bedrooms. The view is also fantastic. The style of the neighborhood is kind of like northern California. I'd live there.

It's 11:43pm, and tomorrow morning at 9am a family member is picking us up to take us to the farm to spend the whole day. We send my old clothes there, but I'm not totally sure how we're all related. Either way, it was odd the last time to see the younger girls in clothes I remember from my childhood.

Quick story time! I have this unfairly attractive cousin who is my age, the daughter of the aunt and uncle we visited this evening. She attends a performing arts high school and wears awesome clothes and has a bedroom out of a catalog. Apparently when we had all those family members over on Sunday, it was like an outrage amongst my grandmother and her sisters because she wore make-up. It was nice to be liked on the grounds that I don't wear make-up. The fact that I couldn't talk to them probably helped. My grandmother gets ridiculously pleased when I say "dobranoc" or "nie wiem."

I want to talk Pokemon for a moment. I beat Ghestis this morning, once I bought some Revives and a few more Lemonades. I can't believe I was paying 700 for Super Potions when I could've been paying 200 for Fresh Waters that do the same thing. At first I was worried that all the trainers would have level 20-ish Pokemon, like on the route right after Nimbasa City on the right. It was lovely to encounter really experience trainers, as well as the story about the Seven Sages. All the old Pokemon (and some new ones), get me all excited and I just want to catch them all. regthreuhiurh

My only complaint is I swear the internet said that the White Forest had Pokemon in it. And like. Buh. If I bought White because of that, and it turns out to be untrue, then I'll be just a bit pissed. I really like Reshiram, and I love fire types to bits. Buhbuhbuh. But either way, White has been a really fantastic game. The difference between it and SoulSilver is phenomenal, and I've just really enjoyed playing it. I enjoyed SoulSilver, too, but it just...wasn't boring. it was fresh and innovative and just wicked cool. Thirty-five-plus-tax well spent.

I wore my watch necklace today, and people really like it. I really like it. :D

11:52. Going to record my Pokemon stats and hit the sack hard.
 I though the wild Pokemon would be weak due to that first route, so I switched Sawsbuck for Drilbur because I think Excadrill is boss. I might keep it, just because it's so awesome. I'll compare them on serebii.net when I next get internet. Which will hopefully be when it isn't raining and blowing droplets onto my screen.

11:56. I borrowed Hour Game by David Baldacci from my godmother because I ran out of books to read. I was worried it would suck, but it's really quite good. It's a murder mystery, but not a terrifying one, which is good. I'm easily terrified. But what was with the random teenages having sex in the car? Couldn't making out of been fine?

PoKEMON StATS
Hours played: 36 hours and 59 minutes

Current team:
- Emboar, 62
- Zebstrika, 60
- Vanilluxe, 53
- Zekrom, 52
- Swanna, 46
- Excadrill, 44

Badges: 8

Today We Did Things and It Was Fun :D - 8.18.2011

Today was, in short, a good day.

We woke up and ate breakfast, and then quickly took off towards the trumway to go into downtown Gdansk. The trumway ride was cool, I guess. It wasn't that striking, really, other than the fact that it is the most hardcore roller coaster my mom will ever ride. More hardcore than the autoban and the ski lift to one of the castles we visited in Germany.

After a quick bit of walking (in which my mom gave money to a guy that reminded me of Mike Lombardo playing guitar because my dad used to do that. She likes giving money to musicians) , we went into a small chuch which I believe was St. Catherines church. It was pretty. A lot of things we saw today had things in Polish, English, and German, but the English translations weren't always that great. I could understand them, and it was nice that they did it at all, but you'd think they could've found someone to proofread their signs. "Book also available in English and Germany." And that doesn't have anything of the "Blef stek" at the restaurant we ate at.

(I'm such a hypocrite, because without internet I'm not spell-checking these, and foreign countries spell check in their own language on blogger.)

The St. Dominic's festival is currently going on. It's kind of like a flea market, or at least that's what people keep calling it. It's basically just tons of vendors selling stuff. I like it a lot, regardless of whether or not I can descibe it well. Anyway, we walked through some streets, taking a detour to visit the World's Holiest Store.
This place was just packed, and I mean up to the ceiling packed, with church-related things. Crucifixes, batisimal outfits, church wine, holiday trinkets, pope-related things, paintings having to do with church-y things, and even the goblets churches use to administer the church wine. I wasn't really sure why my mom wanted to go there--I guess it was there when she was growing up--but it smelled funny and I wasn't sad to see the exit.

After some more walking, we came to the amber museum. I don't know what it's actually called, which is why there are no capital letters. Just amber museum. XD Either way, at first it seemed to be mystical and kind of...mystical. There were showcases of amber and some fantasy-esque music playing from little videos relating to amber. Then it got to be kind of creepy, when you got in range on the museum it was a part of, which had to do with the war and weapons and torture. You could hear the screams from the actors-pretending-to-be-tortured on the screen they had, so that was. Yeah. The stairs were also extremely steep, which was a massive workout going up and a danger going down.

Side note: the top two floors of the amber museum were wicked cool. The place went from medival castle to modern loft, with marble floors and a central spiral staircase, also marble, with a shiny silver banister that led up to a circular balcony deal. I want to live in a place like that. ._.

More walking, and we decided to eat, as it was around one. We finally picked a restaurant that was apparently one of Poland's top 100. We figured it would be good, but forty-five minutes of waiting for our dishes later, we were beginning to have our doubts. We ended up asking another waiter what was going on, and the wait turned out to be like, insane. The other waiter probably took our orders and went on break. Pah. The food was pretty good, though. I ordered off the Kids Menu, since my strategy for ordering in Europe has basically been to find the dishes with french fries and order one of those with a Cola. My mom thinks I'm crazy, but hey, vacation. No one lets me eat like this at home.

While we were eating, two young guys sat outside the fancy outdoor area of the place and began to play guitar and sing. I thought one was kind of attractive, but like, I'm shy and awkward and with my mom and there's the language barrier. Besides, I couldn't understand a word they were singing, and he kind of looked like a prick. But then they sang PokerFace, and it was like, "ATTRACTIVE GUY WITH ATTRACTIVE ACCENT, WANT."

Then we left.

We walked more through the festival-flea market, making our way towards the St. Mary's church, which is the biggest brick church in Poland, if not the world. Our facts aren't totally straight, so don't hold me to that. I'd been there twice before, but it was still beautiful and, well, big. Despite having gone twice, I'd never climbed the tower to the top. The three of us paid to climb up, but near the top my mom was really feeling the air pressure and went back down. The woman behind her went with her, saying how they should warn people about that kind of thing. So that was nice.

Just over 400 (they were numbered) stairs later, my sister and I were at the top. The view was just gorgeous, though I was hanging on to my camera for dear life so I wouldn't drop it. I noticed that people dropped money onto a little ledge between two peaks in the roof. I had found one grosy (grozy? I don't know, Polish cents) on the way to the trumway, so I dug it out and followed suit. I wasn't sure if you were supposed to make a wish or not, but I did just in case. I figured since it was a big cathedrale that it should be an important wish, but it was kind of a silly thing to think was important. I don't want to say what it was, partly because I don't want to jinx it and partly out of embarrassment, but it wasn't like, to be successful or to get home safely to America or to live to retirement or anything. But important in it's own way, maybe.

Another 405-ish stairs later, we were at the bottom. After we had passed the part with the domes of the church ceiling and all, it was a tight spiral staircase to the bottom, just like when we had been going up. My legs were unhappy with this, and it was kind of uncomfortable going down. The stairs were pretty steep, too.
I'm tired, but I need to finish this post.

Once we left the church, we began to meander our way home. There was one stand a young girl, probably a college student, was running, the jewelry she sold was very cool, centered around watches and mechanisms and things. If she isn't an art student, she should be, because it was all very cool. I ended up spending 59 zloty ($20.70) on a bronzey-brass necklace with a pendant shaped like a teapot, that has a working watch on it. I can't describe it well, but I adore it.

Then we bought some things at a congregation of fruit and veggie stands, which was heaven for me. It just smelled divine and I wish we had something like that at home. We never go to the Farmer's Market anymore. D:

After dinner, we took a walk on the beach. It was postively gorgeous, with a pinky-orange-blue sky where there weren't clouds. The waves were a pretty color under the sky, crashing quickly and cold and very much unlike yesterday morning when the sea was hardly moving. My mom and sister were kind of complaining back and forth to each other, so it was nice to be next to the loud waves, not being able to hear them well. I want them both to be happy here. I'm happy and having fun. I want everyone to be happy and having fun.
Quick side notes before I skip off to bed.

1. The sand makes my legs really dry, and I didn't want to use my mom's lotion since it's with macadamia nut oil, and I'm allergic to macadamia nuts. We took the strawberry body lotion from the room that basically belongs to my cousin in Germany (the one with the wasps). This stuff appears dangerously edible. It looks like strawberry yogurt and smells like all your hopes and dreams just came true. I may have to take it home with me.

2. Is it me, or was the Elite 4 way harder this Generation? I didn't lose to any of them, and maybe I just wasn't used to difficult battles, but it felt way harder (lololol, that's what she said. I'm tired). Then I beat N just fine, and lost to Ghestis because I was low on supplies. Zekrom is cool. I like Reshiram better, to be honest, but I wanted the White Forest, so I got White. EDIT FROM THE 21ST: WHERE ARE THE POKEMON IN THE FOREST THAT I WAS PROMISED? DX

PoKEMON StATS
Hours played: 34 hours and 46 minutes

Current team:
- Emboar, 60
- Zebstrika, 58
- Vanilluxe, 51
- Zekrom, 50
- Swanna, 46
- Sawsbuck, 45

Badges: 8

Sniffing Out Oscars - 8.17.2011

Today...today.

Today was...yeah.

It started off just fine. We woke up to clear blue skies, which meant--according to my mother's memories from growing up--that the day would end up at least partly cloudly. Still, we were on the beach at eight in the morning, and we stuck around until a bit after noon (thanks to my complaining that I was cold and bored, I'll admit. I love the beach, but there's only so much you can take when you're just with your mom who is reading a Polish magazine).

On the way back from the beach, we bought fish cakes and a load of pastries. We stuck around for a bit at home after we ate lunch, and then set off to my other grandparents' house. My mom left with my godmother to pick up my sister from the internet while I hung out there, using the internet.

We ended up eating over there, which was fine and dandy. My dad called while we were leaving, and I ended up having an extremely awkward (I had to say it) conversation with my older brother. Two guys stuck at home with a load of indoor and outdoor plants, as well as a dog, while the gals of the place are on vacation. Do I smell and Oscar?

It was what happened after we left that has been on my mind. When my mom and sister got to the internet palace, I found out that the room my sister was supposed to stay in happens to be infested with wasps. This is the place I was chilling out on the windowsill of, mind you, and it apparently housed an army of wasps. I could've been pulverized. Anyway, my mom vaccumed up a load of them and then my uncle who lives with my grandmother was supposedly taking care of it. My sister let out that it's a bit nicer over there, and she's worried about the wasps because she's never been stung by one and doesn't know if she's allergic (I might be, too, as I stepped on something stingy when I was four but I don't know what it was for sure).

She resolved to stay here a night and then see, and she'll probably call tomorrow to set up quarters at my dad's parents' place.

To say that I'm jealous would be...well, maybe I am jealous. But I feel bad saying it. I am in Europe. The quality of the place I'm staying shouldn't bother me so much. And, you know, it doesn't. Not really. The room in the basement with the shower is kind of filthy, and the entire place isn't exactly gleaming, but my mom's done a lot of cleaning and it really is much nicer. It's not like we just sit around in here all day. We see things. Go places. It's tolerable.

I shouldn't wish that I could stay over there, too. It makes sense for my sister to stay there, since we're leaving before her, and the bee business ties into that somewhere. I guess I just was hoping for someone to talk to other than my mom. It isn't like she'll be totally out of reach. Just nights and stuff, but for some reason it's hovering in my mind, taking up my thoughts.

Buh.

Just...yeah. I don't really have anything left to say. I'm kind of tired, so I think I'll just go over my French clothing vocabulary and hit the sack. Oh, look, I just yawned. XD

PoKEMON StATS
Hours played: 32 hours and 59 minutes

Current team:
- Emboar, 58
- Zebstrika, 56
- Vanilluxe, 50
- Garbodor, 45
- Swanna, 45
- Sawsbuck, 41

Badges: 8

The Catcher in the Rye - 8.16.2011

Today, I woke up bright and early to a gorgeous blue sky.

"It's so nice out."

"Well, remember Sunday, when we woke up to fog and it turned out to be fantastic?"

"...Shush."

We were on the beach before it was even nine in the morning. There was just over an hour of full sunlight before the pesky clouds on the horizon began to stray in the way of our vitamin D. I built a rather pitifully exectued sandcastle and tanned some. As the clouds became thicker and darker, we gave up and began to walk back. We bought soft serve ice cream along the way, as well as the plum bread I loved so much the first time I came here.

It's funny. Yesterday I was all, "Boo, it's raining, I don't have internet, my life is crap," while today is, "Plum bread and the beach, my life is sunshine and butterflies~!"

I read for a while after lunch. Then my mom and I walked roughly twenty minutes to a nearby shopping center. My mom bought a book for my dad and we bought some chocolates (mango-grapefruit chocolate 8D) and a teapot. I really liked this faux-leather (polyester) jacket at Orsay, but they didn't have my size. The woman listed off a few other locations of the store, so if we see it, I'll hopefully get to add it to my exploding wardrobe.

On the walk home, the following conversation occured:

"What are you writing? I hope it has something to do with our vacation."

"It does."

Then I followed with a long explanation of BEDA, which my mom began to confuse with NaNoWriMo, asking if I would get a copy of my blog in a book. She thinks I should print it all out to keep. If I had my own printer, I probably would. But the only printer in the house belongs to my dad. I'm worried he'll read it and be like, "WHO ARE THESE STRANGE FFN FRIENDS YOU SPEAK OFF? THIS HAMMER IS FOR BANNING, AND I USE IT TO STRIKE THEE FROM THE SURFACE OF THE INTERNET."

I could edit out the parts about my internet buds, but I really don't want to. This is a memento of myself. I want to have this memento unedited. What's the point, otherwise? How cool would it be to look at this in ten years, when I've maybe left FFN, and remember Into and Vivid and Hunter and Rowan and Evan and Clara and everyone. Maybe try to find them again and chat for a bit. In ten years, I could even meet them IRL if I wanted to. How cool would that be? Uhm, mad cool.

I want to remember them.

When we got back, my legs and my feet hurt so bad. The walk back was ten minutes longer, because both of us had pains in our feet and we were walking more slowly. I finished off the last few pages of The Catcher in the Rye. Now I have read all three books we brought with us. I wish I'd brought The Great Gatsby, if we even have it at home. I meant to read it when John Green gave the Nerdfighters homework, but I never got around to asking if we have it. Either way, maybe now I'll do some writing of Oblivion, my fanfiction baby. Or maybe not, because my sister will be arriving tomorrow and we're going to start doing some serious tourist business.

Let me bring all you invisible readers back into English class. I want to record my thoughts on The Catcher in the Rye. Before I do any critisizing, I want to say that the voice in the book was very good. Holden really felt like a real person to me. I could just so see this guy who'd flunked out of multiple schools and was just wandering around, being a guy. It was believable to me. Very well written.

However, the entire time I was reading it, I kept thinking, "Well, what's the point?" I read on and on, hoping to discover what the whole point of the thing was. I still don't know. I finished the book and I've got no idea what Salinger was trying to say. Isn't there supposed to be a point? Why do they teach the book at school if it doesn't have a point? I swear I've heard John Green talk about it in a vlogbrothers video, but I'd never find it without watching straight from the beginning of their channel again.

Silly as it is, I can't wait until we read it in school so that someone can tell me the point of the whole thing. To be honest, I'd rather of read the story of the stuff from the beginning and end that he said he didn't feel like getting into. That's what I would've liked to hear. Not 214 pages describing two-ish days of this guy wandering around, with no point that I can see. Is this some epic tale of teenage angst or something? I won't pretend to know. I don't like when English teachers tear books to pieces, I admit. "Are the rabbits just rabbits?" YES, THEY ARE JUST FREAKING RABBITS, SHUT UP. But seriously, what was the point of this book? Why is it so well known? Is it because it doesn't have a point?

This is why I like reading books on my own without an English teacher looking over my shoulder. It really makes you think, without someone just telling you the answers. I really want someone to just tell me the answer, but hey, I've got nothing better to do, and maybe I can figure it out on my own.

Lolno.

My mom just yelled at me for eating all the chocolates on of my aunts gave me without giving her one. I thought she had taken some, because I was saving the only other lemon one in the box for the end, because the first one was the best of the three flavors, and it was gone. And now she wants me to pick up red currants. I didn't have anything else to say, anyway. I was just going to play more Pokemon.

As soon as I put my laptop away, I started thinking. One could argue, in response to my The Catcher in the Rye questions, "What is the point to writing at all?" I can't explain it. I mean, I could tell you that Harry Potter is about finding yourself and overcoming barriers and courage and all, and I could do that for all books, but in the end, I could do it for The Catcher in the Rye, too. I could say it's about teenage angst or something. I guess what I meant is that when I read a book, whether I like it or not, I put it down after the last sentence feeling satisfied. Not satisfied in the "that was good" sense, but satisfied in that I had read the story from cover to cover and followed the plotline that the characters were faced with. I could identify the rising action and the climax and the resolution and everything. I couldn't do that with this book. None of it makes sense to me, really. I've finished it, but I don't feel satisfied. I'm still searching for more, wondering if there was something I missed.

PoKEMON StATS
Hours played: 31 hours and 42 minutes

Current team:
- Emboar, 58
- Zebstrika, 55
- Vanilluxe, 50
- Garbodor, 44
- Swanna, 39
- Sawsbuck, 38

Badges: 8

Awkwardly TMI-ing Like A Boss - 8.15.2011

Nothing is open today. It's a church holiday. And when I say nothing is open, I mean nothing is open. Not the bakeries, not the shopping centers, not the supermarkets, not the kiosks. Everything is closed to celebrate the Assumption of Mary. (So I'm mass-posting what I haven't posted yet, and I'm thinking it be Accension, but what do I know?)

My mom dragged me back to church today. I don't mind going to church Sundays (or sometimes Saturdays, if we can't make it Sunday). Perhaps if we were in the States, I wouldn't mind going a second morning in a row. But as it happens, we're not in the States. I don't understand a thing anyone says at church, and the mass is twice as long as the ones back home. During the summer, anyway.

It's just so...well, awkward to stand there, not singing and not saying what you're supposed to be saying because you can't. Someone may as well stick a brightly lit neon sign over my head that reads FOREIGNER, with a helpful and painfully yellow arrow pointing straight to me.

Yesterday I said that church is a great place for thinking, and I still stand by that. But yesterday I had hours of time for thinking while everyone around me spoke Polish and I smiled and nodded and exchanged a few words with people who spoke broken English and had excruciatingly awkward conversations with the one uncle who did speak English (see the boyfriend bit from yesterday).

At first, I just thought about how I would update my Facebook status when I got internet, like a cool kid. Then I wondered if saying my mom would kill me for having a boyfriend would butcher my social standing in High School. It's not that I care so much about being popular. Truly, I just don't want people to hate me. I'd say I have a fairly thick skin from the time I've spent on FFN, and I think I could easily handle anyone who hated me in the real world, but it'd just be easier if no one did, you know? They can think I'm crazy or weird or a geek/dork/nerd (I happen to be all three) or whatever, but it'd be ncie if they didn't hate me. And, you know. Having a boyfriend. That'd be nice. XD Just ignore my teenage ramblings, bro.

I have now promptly forgotten what I wanted to say next, like a boss. I was trying to write my blog post throughout the day so I wouldn't forget these things, but nope. Not working out.

EDIT: I wanted to say that then I started thinking that church was great for thinking, but then you run out of things to think about and you think that church is too good of a place for thinking and it's only a place that you should do some serious thinking in, or else you just putter out. Then a bunch of people coughed almost all at once, and it was like they were telling the priest that his homily was too long, but he didn't stop for another good ten minutes.

Later, my mom and I are going to go feed seagulls on the beach. The weather turned out to b--
I just took a break to go to the bathroom, and I think it's crucial that you know I put my underwear on inside-out this morning. Cool story, I know.

--e cloudy and drizzly, which is just our luck. At least I know for sure that I'll be getting internet access at some time today because I have to tell my sister that my godmother (her aunt) will be picking her up from the airport so that she doesn't have to pay the crazy taxi fare. My mom and I paid nearly seventy zloty for our cab ride.

Now I just feel like-- hold on, I remembered what wanted to say earlier. Going to go edit that in.

As I was just saying, now I kind of just feel like rambling. Talking to my blog is easy, because I can never be sure if people are reading it or not. I wouldn't give the URL to my family members or anything, and it might be kind of awkward and also wicked cool if people I didn't know that well from school read it, but talking to the internet is nice, simple. It's silly to share so much, maybe. In fact, it's almost like when Mr. Weasley told Ginny that you should never talk to something that talks back if you can't see where it's brain is. Is that a bad omen? Because then my life is going to fall to shit.

It's not like I walk into a forum proclaiming that, "My name is [CENSORED FOR BEING TOO SEXY] and that I live at [CENSORED FOR BEING TOO SEXY] in [CENSORED FOR BEING TOO SEXY]."* I'll probably give out my age, and eventually I might let loose my first name and the state I live in if I trust the people enough, but I don't think I tell people too much. I don't know how much information a stalker/murderer/pedophile needs to find me, and maybe they all know where I live, but I don't believe my internet friends are stalkers/murderers/pedophiles, and they've been the best friends I've ever had regardless. See, that's one of those things that would be awkward to say if my IRL friends were reading this. 0D

Well, anyway, lately I've been thinking a lot about High School. I want to be the person I am on the internet when I start school in September. I can be that person around my friends, but it's harder around people I don't know well. I'm awkward** and stumbly and shy when I'm not with at least one other person I'm on fairly good terms with. I already have an outfit planned for the first day (like a boss, and if I may say so myself, it's quite hot) because I'm just that kind of over-prepared person. I want High School to be good for me. Everyone says it's way better than Middle School, which I firmly believe, and it may not be the best four years of my life, but I want it to be nice.

I'm sure you've all lost interest now. I'm going to close the laptop and write more later, hopefully with less sentimental crap and personal feelings.

Sitting on the windowsill, thinking about life.

Haha, not really. I was reading The Catcher in the Rye, occasionally looking up to covet the person I can see on a computer in one of the other houses. Then I was wondering if they were one of the houses with the internet that doesn't have a password, and that them being online would let me be online. I managed to connect to something for a second, but with no internet access. Urgrumph.

The moment I left the house with my mom, it started drizzling. Then it held up for a bit. We fed some seagulls and then began to head for the pier because some guy had been feeding pidgeons there the other day. Then it started drizzling again, which then progressd to pouring. Vacation, yay.

So then we walked back through the pouring, then the drizzling, then the nothing. Then I played some Pokemon and took a nap, because being this awesome is tiring. When I woke up, I thought my mom said it was 9:30, and it was sunny, so I bumbled around for a minute before she yelled for lunch. Turned out to be 2:30. I read for a bit more and now my grandmother and godmother are over. As it happens, my sister already contacted my godmother, so it isn't crucial that I get internet access. Raeg. Now it's drizzling on my laptop, and if it's my luck, I'll get internet when it's raining via a network I can only connect to when I'm outside.

It's cold.

It must be boring to listen to me wangst about not speaking Polish and not having internet and how the weather is bad even though I'm in freaking Europe and should just appreciate that. I highly doubt anyone is reading this, though. Or closely, anyway. This monster post is just a mass of boring and teenage angst.

"He didn't have sex with the prostitute? What kind of book is this?"

The internet is my crack. Give it back.
 By the way, the kiosk down the street sells porn magazines right next to the toys for kids. America is such a prude compared to the European countries I've been to. A German furniture-and-things catalog had a porno calander for sale in it.

I'm excited for my sister to get here, but when she does, I won't be able to open the window in her room like a door and sit there, feet dangling over the balcony, like I am right now. I like this place.
If anything else exciting happens, I'll fill you in later. Otherwise, I'll just put in the Pokemon stats tonight.

--

Yeah, not much else happened. Played Pokemon while sitting in my favorite place on the windowsill, gathering weird looks from the locals. Watched the goodnight program for kids on TV. Ate. Played more Pokemon. Oh, so glamorous. Also imagined situations involving the High School and my FFN friends, which ended up being quite hilarious and some good entertainment.

PoKEMON StATS
Hours played: 31 hours and 1 minute

Current team:
- Emboar, 58
- Zebstrika, 54
- Vanilluxe, 50
- Garbodor,41
- Swanna, 38
- Sawsbuck, 38

Badges: 8

*I think that's how I'm going to introduce myself at forums from now on.
**I'm beginning to overuse this word, aren't I? My second best friend (the thesaurus) isn't with me, so try to ignore that little detail, yes?

The Awkward Monster is on the Prowl - 8.14.2011

When I woke up this morning, it was foggy. After some lying around being tired, I forced myself out of bed and rifled through my suitcase for one of the dresses I brought with me. Then we headed over to church for the eight am mass. Walking there was like walking through a ghost town. It was foggy, and the usually busy city streets were almost totally free of cars. There were maybe five that weren't driving to the local church.
I'm not totally lost here, but I don't understand enough Polish to decipher what the priest was saying. There's something to be said for not understanding, though. You're free to observe, not distracted by speech and the want to say the right things at the right time in the right places. I think we often miss things because our thoughts are almost entirely consumed with speaking and interacting. When you have an excuse such as mine, it's nice to be left to what you can see without the distraction of what you can hear.

I've always thought of church as a nice place for thinking. Not understanding the readings and the gospel and the homily only strengthened that. When I wasn't marveling at the beauty of the artwork and general being of the church, I truthfully mainly thought of what I would write here. I often think about my blog when I go places, but here I was free to dream up ideas without interruption. I also did some serious thinking about converting to Hufflepuff, which I'm not totally set on doing, and am basically having a mid-school-life crisis over.

Something I also do often is think of little scenes and ideas in my head for stories, so I did some of that.
Walking back from church, my mom told me some of what the priest had been saying. At one point he said that people almost never do things for nothing. They have intent, something to gain, even if they don't notice it themselves.

I like that.

Walking back, we were hoping the weather would remain foggy, but it turned out to be perfect beach weather.

And we have company. Speaking of said company, more people just arrived. Buhbuhbuh. Now that two other girls around my age are here, I'm obligated to stay downstairs. And I was just getting to the good part. >.<

Roughly four hours later, I need to go on a quick tangent. We ended up having twelve guests. I've always acknowledged that I have a fairly attractive family, but no one in America can compare to the family members I have in Europe. WHY AM I RELATED TO SO MANY ATTRACTIVE PEOPLE? I'm jealous. ._. Some of them are just unfairly attractive. I want a perfect little nose and thin eyebrows and clear skin.

So, anyway, the first four people to arrive were my grandmother's two sisters and who I think was my mom's cousin and his wife. This was in addition to me, my mom, my grandmother, and a guy who I think is also my mom's cousin, who lives with my grandmother. It was fairly awkward. They all spoke about as much English as I spoke Polish, or maybe they were just hiding mad English skills. Either way, I kind of stood to the side, wishing I could run upstairs and hide. Then my grandmother and her sisters had a brief conversation which I believe concerned how nice my legs are.

Then the Awkward Monster exploded out of happiness, leaving us all coated in a thick layer of awkward that would doom us all.

Speaking of the Awkward Monster wreaking its awkward-tastic havoc, this conversation I just had with an uncle-that-I-apparently-have is a wonderful example of that:

"Do you have a boyfriend?"

"No, my mom would kill me."

"What?"

"...She would not be happy."

-snort- I'm so great at talking to people IRL. Stumbling over my words, talking so fast the foreigners don't understand, and using euphamisms that would imply some serious business to a different culture.

I'm using the moment when they asked to see my netbook to write. Like a boss. We're hoping that the--
As soon as I said that, my mom told me that I have company and have to put the netbook away.
--weather will be as gorgeous tomorrow as it was today, as we could only squeeze in a little under two hours of walking. However, one of my mom's cousins said it was going to rain. Boooo.

And revisiting the awkward, another uncle-that-I-apparently had wanted to stay in touch, so I had to tell him that on Facebook my last name is Ketchum, from Pokemon, and give him the embarrassing email I made in 4th grade. Yaaaay.

Everyone is finally gone. The only good thing that came out of this was a load of cakes and small gifts from people (A multi-colored rosary? That was first on my Christmas list. Already blessed? Bonus, whooo). I would enjoy these gatherings much more if everyone could just, like, speak in a language I understand. I wish my ears magically heard the Polish as English, and that their ears magically turned my English into Polish. That would be so freaking helpful. Instead I stood around awkwardly with the other four girls while they spoke Polish, and one of them translated in okay-English every now and then.

"Why are you so quiet?"

Dude, I'm socially awkward in my first language, let alone one I hardly know.

Okay, I'm wicked tired. If anyone cares, I switched Simisage out of my Pokemon party because I realized after you evolve your Pan- Pokemon, you can't learn anymore moves. Into told me Sawsbuck is really helpful when fighting the E4, and my Sawsbuck was the only other decent grass-type Pokemon I had. And now my party isn't exclusively male. XD

PoKEMON StATS
Hours played: 28 hours and 6 minutes

Current team:
- Emboar, 58
- Zebstrika, 53
- Vanillish, 39
- Garbodor, 38
- Swanna, 38
- Sawsbuck, 34

Badges: 8

When Alcohol Makes You Miss My Little Pony - 8.13.2011

Not a whole lot to report today.

In the morning we walked over to the bakery to buy some bread, as we are having company tomorrow but basically nothing is open on Sunday. Monday is also a church holiday, so we're hoping for beach weather. We also bought cucumbers and tomatoes and cereal and yogurt and chunks of three different cakes. The fantastic thing about this trip is that my mom is much more likely to buy me sweets than in the States. Plus we're having company, so we must have cake.

Then we walked on the beach for three hours, like the bosses we are. It was warm and sunny for most of the walk, and I was wearing shorts to I could walk in the water with the waves crashing around my ankles and it was just l o v e l y. I love the beach to bits, if you haven't noticed.

On the beach, we bought ice cream from a walking vendor. Then, on the walk back when we switched to the pavement towards the end, my mom bought me a gofry, or waffle, with whipped cream and chocolate with cherries. I should mention that my mom tasted the chocolate and pronounced it SPIKED. Hardcore. We're just perpetuating the stereotypes here. I wish I had at least internet, if not my best friend (the dictionary), to make sure I'm using "perpetuating" correctly.

Before we got home, we stopped at one of the many supermarkets, where we bought pear-mint chocolate, pear-black currant chocolate, and some other sweets.

When we got back, I finished re-reading Paper Towns by John Green, I've now read both the books I brought, which means I'll be stealing The Catcher in the Rye from my mom when she isn't reading it, and probably re-re-reading The Hunger Games and Paper Towns.

Then I played Pokemon. However, Victory Road was beginning to stump and annoy me, as I couldn't get out no matter how many times I walked through the same caves. I went out on the balcony, looking for more internet connections. I found a second network that didn't have a password, but I couldn't connect. I think it might be something with Poland vs. Netbook.

"I'm bored."

"You can call grandma and see if you can go over and use the internet."

"I'm not going to call!"

-phone rings-

"I WIN."

So, like the major boss that I am, I walked the entire block-and-a-half trip to my other grandparents' house by myself. Now, walking at home is like, "Whatever, dude." But walking here is like, "You'd better hustle your ass to your destination lest some drunkard stumble your way and decide that now would be a lovely time to commit the crime of rape." Carrying a netbook in my bag wasn't helping the whole situation, so I walked pretty damn fast over there. My mom picked me up, luckily.

My netbook didn't even end up picking up connection there, so I just used my grandmother's hardly-used laptop with this wireless card thing that gives you internet anywhere in Poland. It was slow, but I mean, it was internet. I went three--almost three-and-a-half--days without the thing. I'm an internet geek. I'm more comfortable and confident there than in real life; it's like living without something vital like food or water or air. I was glad to hang around on the internet for a couple hours. Plus I looked up how to get through Victory Road, which I did when I got home. Didn't update the blog because the posts are on the netbook.

We also bought postcards.

Tomorrow we're going for church at 8am and we're having company, so I should really get to bed. Which I'm fine with, because I'm tired. That walk was, you know, tiring.

PoKEMON StATS
Hours played: 26 hours and 45 minutes

Current Team:
- Emboar, 58
- Zebstrika, 52
- Vanillish, 39
- Simisage, 38
- Trubbish, 35
- Ducklett, 31

Badges: 8

The Perpetual Business of a Quality Fish Store

That would be an excellent title for a novel, I might have to write that for NaNoWriMo.

Anyway, seriously. Here, by the sea, quality fish stores have their hands full. Yesterday, my mom and I dropped by what is supposedly the best fish store in the city and found it utterly packed. Too lazy to stand in line, we left, saying we'd come back as soon as they opened tomorrow (which was today). A little after they opened, we dropped by to find it again, packed (the store wasn't very big, but there were two lines that bent, and probably thirty people waiting to be helped). We found out that there were only three types of fish at that moment and that there would be more in an hour.

It was still stuffed--possibly more so than the other two times--but we sucked it up and stood in line. We left the store with six whole flounders, four fish cakes, one kilo of one salad-thing, and one kilo of another salad-thing, all for twenty-six zloty.

Todays endeavours also included exchanging currancies, eating, ambling around and glancing at the merchandise of different stores, eating, buying shoes, eating, a long and lovely walk on the beach, and eating, We've done lots of eating in the two and a half days we've been here, and I don't regret a morsel of it. We bought 12 assorted pastries after our second trip to the fish store, as well as a kilo of sour cherries and some cheese.

The way I talk about how fantastic the food is, you'd probably expect me to be dining on massive roast animals and banquets the size of your bedroom and such, but the food is really quite simple. Cereal or rolls for breakfast, rolls for supper, and assorted big dinners for lunch, which is dinner here. But everything is just so fresh. It's not like the American crap I'm used to. This is real food. I'm so happy to just eat to my heart's content, especially with all the walking and my boss metabolism.

As I said above, I bought shoes. They're Converse, though not really. Knock-offs from some company called Super Gear, but I like them. They're like high-tops, made of a jean-like material with zippers and things and I like them. I'm no good at describing clothing that already exists, so you'll have to trust me on this one that they are cool.

My dad's mother gave me a box of alcoholic chocolates. As I understand it, the entire contents of the box together would be 1.5% alcohol. I'm going to get so wasted tonight.

(Not really. I'm going to finish this blog post, glance at some French notes, and hit the sack. I'm so cool.)

Speaking of being cool, I've taken to hooking my thumbs into either the back or front pockets of my jeans, which gives me the feeling of walking with some serious swagger. I'm not really sure how I feel about this new habit. XD

Buh, now I have to get up to tell you my Pokemon stats. The thing is charging, and I'm lazy. ._.

PoKEMON StATS
Hours played: 25 hours and 27 minutes

Current team:
- Emboar, 57
- Zebstrika, 51
- Simisage, 38
- Vanillish, 38
- Ducklett, 30
- Trubbish, 29

Badges: 8