Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Continental Can Suck My Metaphorical Male Sex Organ - 8.31.2011

FLIGHT DELAYS, YAY.

I'm only kidding. This is utter crap. Buhbuhbuhbuh.

We were supposed to depart at 10am from Brussels. Guess what time it is? If you guessed 1:06pm, then DINGDINGDING, we have a winner. It's rumoured that we're boarding at 2:45pm. Let's hope, young grasshoppers.

I'm lucky in a sense, I guess. I was worried about not having time to study. Guess who has time to study without the distraction of hundreds of movies and tv episodes and crap? This girl.

I decided to write my blog entry now because when I get home, it's going to be like, post the blog and CRASH. It's going to be like, 3am Europe time when we get home, or 9pm EST. And don't forget I have a French test tomorrow at 2pm. I. AM. GOING. TO. DIE.

DX

At least the people here are nice. There's a twenty-seven year old mother with her almost-two-year-old daughter from Montana. The mother is very nice and her daughter is adorable. Then there's this fifteen year old girl who speaks fluent French because she goes to a French-American school in New York. So at least I have help if I need it. I wish I had my textbook. DX People sometimes offer words into our conversations, and they're all nice and helpful.

But like, I want to go home.

If I have to spend the night here, it will be a cool experience, but like, I WANT TO GO HOME. I also want to take my French test, because if this month hasn't taught you anything about me, I'm a massive nerd/geek/dork. LET ME TAKE MY TEST. I WANT TO KNOW MY RESULTS. I WANT TO GET INTO FRENCH-TWO-HONORS. PLEASE, UNIVERSE.

Oh, so I should tell you what even happened. There's some part in the cockpit (haha, cock. I want to be immature if I can't go home.) that's broken. They have to get the part from London to fix it because they can't depart with it malfunctioning. But instead of just sending the part over on a plane from London, they're flying a plane from here to London and back.

I hope they fix that part damn well.

Well, that's basically my day. Security was alright. My candy wasn't taken away, so I'm happy. A while ago I had a Kinder chocolate stick, dubbing it my I've-Been-Studying-Hard-And-Also-I'm-Stuck-In-An-Airport Reward. And now I'm chewing gum. Speaking of said gum, it was very good at first, but I just realized it lost all the flavor. Also, I have to pee.

Oh, lol, so I was buying an "easy pizza" and a Fanta with the 9 Euro voucher they gave us, and I accidentally read the price wrong so I was short ten cents, and I tried to pay with the ten cents from what I think was the tip jar. I'm so smart. XD

The mother sitting across from me is such a good mom. Damn, I want to have a family when I grow up. :3
Yeah, I just lost my train of thought. I'm going to go to the restroom, study more French, and hope we depart on time. Buhbuhbuh.

PoKEMON StATSI haven't gotten to the Pokemon stage of my boredom. I guess, though, that I've proved my sister can entertain herself for the eight hour layover she has. We've already been here for six hours.

Some Little Notes While I'm in the Car:

On the plane, I watched Angus, Thongs, and Perfect Snogging; Confessions of a Shopaholic; and Limitless, as well as four episdoes of 30Rock. For the former two, I know want to read the books, as I usually try to read the books first. I liked both, though both made me wish I had a boyfriend. Especially Angus. DX

Limitless was good, but also weird. But like, Bradley Cooper is hot. XD I don't like watching stabbing and shit, so it wasn't really my type of movie. Especially because he didn't end up a writer. Speaking of his writing, what a tactless book title. You can't just have a kickass summary and a drop-dead-fantastic novel; you need a good title, or readers don't get hooked in to pick it up and read it.

-Bradley Cooper walks in and sees scraped up drug dealer-

Me: Bro, what happened?

Bradley Cooper: Bro, what happened?
Ahahaha, that was amusing. XD

Waiting in line for the bathroom after a long flight is like, "Bro, I haven't taken a piss in ten hours, so kindly get the fuck out of the stall."

I have a headache. And I'm worried for my test. Byeee.

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Le Francais, S'il Vous Plait - 8.30.2011

I woke up this morning and emailed the head of the language department for my school system, just because I wanted him to get an email from 2am his time.

He never responded to my first email about when I would take my French exam, so that was what my query was. Turns out, my test is on Thursdau. That is, September 1st.

Crapcrapcrapcrapcrapcrapcrapcrap.

Not that I haven't studied. I've studied like a boss. I know everything on the list. I'm just worried. But before I worry more about French, let's talk about today.

Around noon we went to this store that was basically what would have been the product of Target and Cosco (Costco?) having a baby, only instead of picking and choosing the genes, they just combined into a massive store with the genes of both parents. It was quite a boss place. I got myself a planner for 9th grade, because while the Middle School gives you assignment books (basically planners), the High School doesn't. And without a concrete log of my assignments (and whether or not I've done them), I would have regular panic attacks. In fact, even with my planner, I sometimes freak out over not handing things in I handed in days ago.

I also bought a lot of candy. I dearly hope the airport security won't stop me because most of my carry-on is candy. It was all too heavy to put in my suitcase. q.q

Thennnn...we came home and I killed some time on the internet and then we ate. I love the internet, did you know? I was quite happy today, just being on the internet. :D

More internet, more internet, found out about French test, procrastinated on internet while occasionally studying.

My mom and I walked to Aldi at one point, where she bought some chocolate.

And that was basically it. More internet and studying. I also finished Drop Shot by Harlan Colban. I hope that's his name. I already packed the book, and I'm too lazy to Google it. It was a fairly good book. Not excellent like Hour Game. I think I prefer serial killer books to one-or-two-murder books. Just more interesting, I guess. This one had it's share of events, but it dragged for me in a lot of places. Also, it wasn't well edited. I found a handful of typos and things, which was annoying to me. When I post a chapter on fanfiction and it has an error or two, that's fine, because I'm one person who edited it, and it also isn't a concrete thing--I can change it and replace the chapter with the edited one. But when multiple people read over a work and then publish it on paper and can't change it anymore and there are errors, that doesn't fly with me.

So, now for my French panic attack. Excuse me while I go through my list with you to make sure I know things. There are no accents on words; I apologise, but I can't go looking up every symbol and I don't know the shortcuts.

Family: grandmere, grandpere, mere, pere, frere, souer, cousin, cousine, tante, oncle, etc
Time/Date: Aujourd'hui c'est mardi le 30 aout. Il est 20 heures 47.
Weather: Il est nuageux, il fait du soleil, il pleut, etc
Food: Une pizza au fromage, un sandwich au pate, une quiche, un croissant, un cafe au lait, un coca, une menth a l'eau, etc
Liks and Dislikes: J'aime chanter, j'aime manger, j'aime jouer au tennis, je n'aime pas danser, je n'aime pas jouer au hocket, je n'aime pas nager, etc
Question Words: Qui, que, quand, ou, pour quoi, comment, parce que
Clothing: un blouson, une veste, un manteau, un short, un tee shirt, un maillot de bain, une ceinture, un chapeau, etc
Present Activities: Je chante, tu chantes, il chante, elle chante, nous chantons, vous chantez, ils chantent, elles chantent, etc
Past Activies: Je chante, tu chante, il chante, elle chante, nous chante, vous chante, ils chante, elles chante, etc (accent over e in chante)
Future Activities: Je vais chanter, tu vas chanter, il va chanter, elle va chanter, nous allons chanter, vous allez chanter, ils vont chanter, elles vont chanter, etc
Buildings/Location: une ecole, un cinema, une plage, un stade, un hotel, un cafe, un garage, une chambre, etc
Prepositions: devant, derrier, sur, sous, dans
Possesions/Objects: un stylo, une guitare, une sac, un livre, un velo, une radio, un informatique, une affiche, etc
-er verbs: Je mange, tu manges, il mange, elle mange, nous mangeons, vous mangez, ils mangent, elles mangent
avoir: to have. J'ai, tu as, il a, elle a, nous avons, vous avez, ils ont, elles ont
aller: to go. Je vais, tu vas, il va, elle va, nous allons, vous allez, ils vont, elles vont
etre: to be. Je suis, tu es, il est, elle est, nous sommes, vous etes, ils sont, elles sont
-ir verbs: Je choisis, tu choisis, il choisit, elle choisit, nous choisissons, vous choisissez, ils choisissent, elles choisissent
-re verbs: Je perds, tu perds, il perd, elle perd, nous perdons, vous perdez, ils perdent, elles perdent (the game)
faire: to do, make, take. Je fais, tu fais, il fait, elle fait, nous faisons, vous faites, ils font, elles font
mettre: to put, put on, place, turn on, wear. Je mets, tu mets, il met, elle met, nous mettons, vous mettez, ils mettent, elles mettent
venir: to come. Je venis, tu venis, il venit, elle venit, nous venissons, vous venissez, ils venissent, elles venissent (haha, venis XDD)
Negative Form: ne and pas around the verb, can only be seperated by one word
Demonstrative Adjectives: ce, cette, ces
Colors: Blanc, noir, vert, bleu, gris, marron, orange, rose, rouge, jaune
Nationalities: Francais, francaise, anglais, anglaise, americain, americaine, etc
Size: Grand, petit, etc
Personality: Amusant, intelligent, interessant, mechant, bete, sympathique, timide, gentil, mignon, sportif
General Description: Grand, petit, brun, blond, beau, belle, jolie, jeune
Possessive Adjectives: mon, ma, mes, ton, ta, tes, son, sa, ses, notre, votre, leur
Past Tense:
 -er: J'ai chante, tu as chante, il a chante, elle a chante, nous avons chante, vous avez chante, ils ont chante, elles ont chant
 -ir: J'ai fini, tu as fini, il a fini, elle a fini, nous avons fini, vous avez fini, ils ont fini, elles ont fini
 -re: J'ai perdu, tu as perdu, il a perdu, elle a perdu, nous avons perdu, vous avez perdu, ils ont pedu, elles on perdu
Past Tense Aller: Form of etre in front of alle (masculine), alles (masculine plural), allee (feminine), allees (feminine plural). Accent over first e.

And that's all I need to know. YAAAAY. Now I can sleep easy. Not really. Night, y'all~

PoKEMON StATS

NO TIME, MUST STUDY.

Monday, August 29, 2011

I'm Going To Get Lost in High School - 8.29.2011

Apparently, last night my cousins' cat came in and tried to sleep on my stomach. Unfortunately, my mom kicked her out and closed the door. DX

So, today, I woke up.

And then I ate breakfast.

WHOOO. INTERNET. WHOOO. Unfortunately, my cousins' router likes to turn itself off at random times, which makes doing stuff difficult. But still. It's, like, internet.

At one point while the router was off, I did some French-studying. Made a short rap about possessive adjectives, and another about feminine buildings and locations. I'm so cool. XD Apparently, one of the other kids who was studying over the summer took the test today, while no one responded to my email about it. Boooo. I also missed orientation today. Buhbuhbuh.

We went out for lunch, where I ate a massive pork chop covered in sauce and a side of french fries with a glass of Fanta.

Then we came home...

MORE INTERNET, WHOOO.

Then we (that is, me, my mom, my aunt, my uncle) went into town and I spent all my Euros, plus some of my uncle's Euros, on a new bag and wallet. They're just so cute. I couldn't resist. ._.

We ate ice cream~ :D

Then we came home again.

MORE INTERNET, WHOOOOOO. XD

Me, my cousin, my other cousin, and one of my cousin's friends went bowling. I'm awful at bowling, as it so happens. And I drank an awful Virgin Colada. The one I had at Arizona Pizza was much better. Anyway, I may be awful at bowling, but I happen to be quite good at air hockey. we played two-on-two air hockey, which was fantastic. Then we got take out pizza at this place where my cousin used to work, so everyone was super nice and they all knew him.

Though they messed up one of our orders, and we ended up with a tunafish pizza. XP

Then we played Super Smash Brothers Brawl, which was especially fun because my brother sold our copy of it. -.-

And then more internet. I recently realized (meaning a few minutes ago) how much I truly love Tumblr. I don't know how I lived without it for so many dies. However, a Tumblr post just scared me pretty bad, and now I'm afraid to go shower. But I have to go shower, because I'm a neat freak. So I guess I should go shower.

PoKEMON StATS

"We're talking about how we miss being young and playing Pokemon all day."

"...I still do that."

Being a kid is awesome. Unfortunately, my French comes first. BON NUIT~ (I think that's good night...don't hold me to that...XD)

Snore - 8.28.2011

"Where are we going?"

"To brunch and then to Something-Land."

"Well, I'd better put my hair up if we're going to Something-Land."

Today me, my mom, my uncle, my aunt, my two cousins, and my cousin's girlfriend all set out for Phantasia Land, a rollar coaster-theme park deal.

Before entering the park, we went to the Hotel Ling Bao, which is on the grounds, and ate from a massive brunch buffet. In one sitting I ate mini sausages; bacon; a mini roll with cheese and tomato; a mini croissant; some meat; some teriyaki meat; white rice; pinapple; grapefruit juice; chicken nuggets; french fries; ketchup; sparkling water; a waffle with kiwi jam and pineapple; a waffle with mango jam, chocolate sprinkles, and watermelon; a bowl of watermelon; a handful of gummy bears; a stick of cotton candy; and a few sips of a 10-fruit juice.

The key to the kids buffet is walking in like you own the place.

I ate a fortune cookie, and my fortune was, "A flirt excites you." Minutes later, a dragon winked at me during a show. Then an attractive asian man came out with a whip and had some fun with the dragon. That was intentional, get your mind out of the gutter.

Rides, rides, rides. Roller coasters, roller coasters, roller coasters.

Nothing super-mega-note-worthy to mention, really. They had this new ride thing that was kind of cool called "Maus au Chocolat" where you had this shooter thing and you shot the mice and it was in 3D and you got points and this is boring for you, I know.

I'm tired, bro.

So like, today I ate ridiculous amounts of food and then went on a ton of roller coasters. And now I'm tired. I had fun today, but I'm also ready to go home.

And I'm also tired.

COOL STORY, BRO. TELL IT AGAIN, BRO.

I had things I wanted to say. But I'm tired.

PoKEMON StATS
I'm tir... -snore-

I Am Not Whining, I Am Complaining - 8.27.2011

Something I forgot to mention yesterday:

I quoted Rarity to my mom. 8D

Today~

I was going to rejoice my having internet, but while I was beginning my frolick through the interwebs, the connection disappeared and it won't come back. Boo.

Anyway, when I woke up this morning, it was another picture-perfect beach day. However, I had to pack my last few things and eat and then await our departure to the airport. We took a taxi there, leaving behind my sister and grandmother.

Airport security was tighter than any other place on this trip. They had me take my darling netbook out of my bag and ran it through the machine three times, as well as opened and inspected it. What did my dear ever do to them? -snuggles netbook-

Then we sat in the gate area for an hour and a half ish. They announced the gate we were going to depart from, then they changed their minds and had us switch to the gate that was going to Stockholm. There was a mad dash as the Stockholm and Dortmund flights switched places, which I thought was rather funny.
And then some woman had some sort of panic attack or asthma attack or something. ._.

I got some sleep on the short flight, apparently sleeping through the bout of turbulance that we encountered. I assume that was when I drooled all over my iPod. Grosssss.

Getting luggage, driving, driving, driving.

Right. -clap- So we made it to Casa My Uncle. We ate dinner and then went to Kaufland, because they needed to and my mom and I wanted to buy German candy. Which I bought lots of. :D My suitcase is so pleasantly full of foreign candies. It makes me happy inside.

Then...nothing else exciting happened. The weather has been cloudy, sunny, sprinkly, and rainy since we got here. Good ol' German weather. We watched some of my uncle's black and white (and then some fuzzy color) home movies. My high-school-senior-brother misses his mom. I believe we may be going to the amusement (you have no idea how long it took me to spell that; I kept try "amusant," which is French) park tomorrow. ^-^

NOW GIVE ME MY INTERNET, YOU HO.

0D

PoKEMON StATSHey, guess what? Shut up.

P.S. I've had Hey Molly by Mike Lombardo stuck in my head for days. I want to buy it. As well as Fuck You by Cee Lo Green. I'm usually not a mainstream person, but it's damn catchy. Oh snap. XD

WHOO, BEACH DAY - 8.26.2011

Quickly, one thing I believe I left out of yesterday's blog post:

There was a guy playing guitar on the street in Gdansk. Instead of having a sign about some deadly disease or impoverishment he was dealing with, the sign simply said, "I'm perfectly healthy; the money's for beer." We gave him a few zloty and my mom had me take a picture of her with him. As we were walking away, he said in English, "At least it's true." :'D

So, anyway.

Today was my last day in Poland. Tomorrow we're driving to the airport early and flying back to Germany. It was a lovely last day, though.

We woke up to a thick, dripping fog. My mom and I went to the bakery two hours after they opened (t'was 8am) so my mom could get this one pastry I can't spell that she hadn't had since she'd gotten here. We ended up buying a hefty load of pastries, a load we probably won't finish, as it's mostly still there. Guess what's for breakfast? 8D

The fog burned off quickly, leaving a cloudless blue sky. We headed off to the beach at a time that was probably around 9:30am, and we stayed there until a little before two. I'm fairly certain I have some sunburn, but I don't mind, and if I complain my sister will tell me I should've worn sunscreen. My mom didn't wear any, either. Anyway, once we got to our spot I started building a sand castle that ended up being pretty boss. Then I went in the water. However, I got scared out by all the jellyfish I kept nearly walking into.
I was beginning to get bored of lying around and reading when the waves began to pick up. The sea had been at a near standstill all day, so I leapt at the chance to stand in the waves and soak my burning skin. But alas, this was my sandcastle before the waves:


And this was how it fared afterwards:

Boooo.

Anyway, my sister and I went to the pier so she could check something and I could look up the weight limit on suitcases for our flight. Then we walked back to our mom, and the three of us went to what is apparently called a "milk bar." It's basically like a cafeteria. Only not a crappy grade school cafeteria. Like a college cafeteria. Once we ate we went to the candy store, where my mom and I loaded up on Polish sweets (I spent nearly all my money--40.42 zloty--there).

The guy working there was super nice. We told him that he was basically the nicest guy we'd met, and he said that he just worked at that kind of store. I, of course, couldn't understand a word he was saying, but he seemed like a seriously awesome guy.

We dashed home, changed, hopped on a bus, then a train, and we were at my sister's godmother's mother's apartment (she's another great-aunt of mine, as it turns out). She lives on the top floor of a fancy building in a gated community. And she doesn't even rent it--she owns it. She remodeled the crap out of the place, apparently, and it's full of expensive-looking furniture. And it has two balconies.

With her, we ambled a bit around Sopot. We walked down the big pier and ate a small dinner down there. My sister has been trying to get a Zywiec* (a Polish beer) glass, and when we asked about it there the waitress said we could discuss it later, and she brought it out after our dishes. So that was nice. ^-^

...And then we came home.

Oh, I wanted to say that now that I know that my mother's aunt lives in a fancy apartment and drives an Audi, I want to say that she's just how I imagined Remington Battle. Only much nicer.

The three of us dropped by the house of our other grandparents so my mom and I could say goodbye, and then we all came home and I went through the list of things I brought so I didn't leave anything behind and packed my suitcase to bursting point with all the things I bought.

I'll see you in Germany, dearies~

PoKEMON StATS
Abuhbuhbuh.

*I should mention that most of the Polish words I've used here (Zywiec, zloty, nalisnicowo, etc) have accents on them and thus are spelled incorrectly on here.

Creepy Old Man, And Also My Legs - 8.25.2011

I want to start this blog post with something other than, "Today I...," but that isn't really working out.
Today after breakfast my sister headed off to our other grandparents' house to do some work while my mom and I went back downtown to blow some money (or I did). The first two kiosks we went to didn't have tickets, which we thought was stupid, and the guy was really rude at the third one. My mom told him, "I wasn't in Poland for 25 years, but the rudeness hasn't changed at all," before we ran off to catch the fancy tramway that was waiting to leave. We made it. ^-^

A little before we had to get off the tramway, I let an old man take my seat. He gave me a load of compliments that could be summed up in, "You're nice to look at because you don't wear make-up."

...

Creepy old man was creepy. On that note, my grandmother has continued to talk about how nice my legs are.

We went into the Empik in the tunnel under the tracks, where I bought, though I may regret it, a murder mystery. My mom wanted to ask an employee a question, so I had her also ask for me where the English books where. They had several books by Harlan Coben (seriously, half the English books they had--which admittedly wasn't a large number--where by him), so I read the backs of all of them and picked Drop Shot, which seemed the most interesting. No judgements until I finish, though, bro.

Then we walked for a bit. I wanted to go to this souvenier (oh, I can't spell it) shop we'd been to to check the price of a Polska sweatshirt (66 zloty--I didn't buy it), and possibly get some things for friends. My mom thinks I'm stupid for buying gifts for friends. I just...don't get her...buh. I also bought myself a Polska beanie, because why not? 8D

We stopped by some other places, and also walked along the amber-selling street, where I got my mom to buy me a little pendant in the shape of a pig. Not amber, but cute and inexpensive.

After we got off the tramway (another of the newest ones, with the AC actually on), we bought some things from the bakery as well as raspberries and tomatoes from a stand. Then we ate lunch and called my sister, who came over and the three of us went to the beach. It wasn't really beach weather, but we walked for a while and then they sat and I built a sandcastle and then we went home.

On the way back we bought some pastries from another bakery and my mom bought some candy to try so she'd know what to buy tomorrow and we bought mint tea and then we came home.

Before supper, my grandmother's friend and her fifteen-year-old granddaughter came over. My sister and I talked with the girl for a bit before they left and then we ate.

This blog post is super exciting, I know.

Tomorrow is supposed to be hot and sunny, so we're planning to hit the beach and then sightsee in Sopot at 4 with my sister's godmother's mother like we had planned when we went to see her.

Cool story, bro.

PoKEMON StATS
I think Blitzle is dubbed as such because the German word for "lightning" is "blitz."